Add to Favorites
Hosting Discussion
 

forgot password?


Reply


Old
  Post #1 (permalink)   05-12-2004, 02:13 PM
HD Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 461

Status: Lesli is offline
A sign-up to watch for:

Email domain being used: hotmail.com
Domain being used: us0meds.com
IP address: 24.153.195.226
(Further information withheld for customer privacy reasons)

This person's order passed the fraud autocheck, but the card address was not from the same area as the ordering IP. A phone call got only the response, "Sorry, wrong number." I actually strongly suspect that someone's credit card is being used fraudulently, and have reported the matter.
 
 
 


Old
  Post #2 (permalink)   05-12-2004, 02:26 PM
HD Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Edinburgh , Scotland
Posts: 190

Status: Decker is offline
If your sure enough to post I'd post some of the details just in case too. Could be quite innocent and the person may have moved home.
 
 
 


Old
  Post #3 (permalink)   05-12-2004, 02:31 PM
HD Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 461

Status: Lesli is offline
It *might* be innocent, but when I called the number supplied with the order, the person who replied simply said, "Wrong number". There was also no response to the email we sent out. This happened over 36 hours ago - we allow time for response in these borderline cases.

As it is, though, the questionable ordering in conjunction with the domain (which seems to scream "Spam site in the birthing!!!") is enough for us to give the order the hairy eyeball.

What other details would you want? I don't personally know how much we can post without running afoul of any consumer privacy laws, hence my caution.

They ordered the smallest package we offer, monthly payment cycle. They paid with Visa card.
__________________
Lesli Schauf, TLM Network
Linux and Windows Shared Hosting: Scribehost
 
 
 


Old
  Post #4 (permalink)   05-12-2004, 02:34 PM
HD Amateur
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 54

Status: vpscolo is offline
I would advise dropping it as with a domain like that it will only be used for spamming.

Rus
__________________
www.vpscolo.com - Linux VPS Co-Locations
www.cherryhosting.net - Hosting with everything on top
 
 
 


Old
  Post #5 (permalink)   05-12-2004, 02:35 PM
HD Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 461

Status: Lesli is offline
We did not fulfill the order. No way, no how - too many things just don't add up, or only add up to potential trouble (we don't have automatic signups, either, largely to protect ourselves against signups from folks like this.)
__________________
Lesli Schauf, TLM Network
Linux and Windows Shared Hosting: Scribehost
 
 
 


Old
  Post #6 (permalink)   05-22-2004, 07:35 AM
HD Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: London, UK
Posts: 366

Status: imported_HadleyHost is offline
Good idea. It sounded like fraud to me
__________________
Mark Uttley
Email: mark@hadleyhost.com
http://www.hadleyhost.com
Good quality webhosting solutions for fantastic prices!
 
 
 


Old
  Post #7 (permalink)   06-05-2004, 03:58 PM
HD Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 284

Status: Freckled is offline
Thanks for the info Lesli, many of these med type domains turn out to either be serious spammers or fraudsters.
__________________
Stop on by and say hello!
Arizona bound!!
FreckleFaceHosting.com
 
 
 


Old
  Post #8 (permalink)   06-10-2004, 10:09 AM
HD Addict
 
fallcreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 103

Status: fallcreek is offline
Thanks for the heads-up Leslie!

John
__________________
http://www.fallcreektech.com
http://www.mediabuynet.com - My lovely wife's site.
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools

New Post New Post   Old Post Old Post
Posting Rules:
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On