Add to Favorites
Hosting Discussion
 

Hosting Discussion > Web Hosting Forums > Domain Name Issues > A got a letter from a company to renew my domain today
forgot password?


SPONSORED LINKS

Reply


Old
  Post #1 (permalink)   01-23-2004, 06:43 AM
HD Wizard
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 2,100

Status: BlackStorm is offline
Hey,
I got a letter from a company in England saying I have to renew my domain name immediately eo ensure service continues uninterrupted...

I have never heard of them before and they sound like a scam to me, it sounds like they are saying the domain has to be registered through them and they are playing on the fact that a lot of people wont know anything about domain registration.

They say a lot of times about the domain becoming available for others to buy if I dont send them money ASAP for my domain (which I just renewed about 5 days ago by the way... )

The cost is........£60/2 years.
Which is around $100 I think for the 2 years...
What a rip off!

The company is EU REGISTRY SERVICES and they must search through the whois for domains expiring with the admin near them...

And into the bin it goes
 
 
 


Old
  Post #2 (permalink)   01-23-2004, 07:05 AM
HD Guru
 
turnkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 588

Status: turnkey is offline
So about $50 a year, wow that is about a good 5 domains. Dishonest companies should be shut down.
__________________
Turnkey Resellers
www.turnkeyresellers.com
Reseller Hosting and PHP Programming
 
 
 


Old
  Post #3 (permalink)   01-23-2004, 07:13 AM
HD Wizard
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 2,100

Status: BlackStorm is offline
Yeah I know.
I dont think they are being dishonest about anything though, just charging a huge amount for the domains.

I think the only way to pay was via cheque or money order also, I know you had to send them it anyway, didnt even see a website address on the form
 
 
 


Old
  Post #4 (permalink)   01-23-2004, 07:44 AM
HD Wizard
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 1,415

Status: GordyMac is offline
Does sound a bit odd.. also a bit of money for a domain isn't it?
 
 
 


Old
  Post #5 (permalink)   01-23-2004, 11:58 AM
HD Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 217

Status: HS Nick is offline
Wow for $50/year you can get 10 domains from ev1servers.net

Ouch, they are ripping you off.
__________________
[•] Nick Kelly, Owner
[•] HostingScene.com - Reseller and Shared Web Hosting
 
 
 


Old
  Post #6 (permalink)   01-23-2004, 02:58 PM
HD Guru
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: England, UK
Posts: 642

Status: GamesCreation is offline
Hey! I got one like this similiar to that. £80 to keep my domain... which is registered for another year before it expires and not even registered with them.

Into the bin
__________________
My Banner Design Thread
 
 
 


Old
  Post #7 (permalink)   01-23-2004, 03:14 PM
HD Wizard
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 2,100

Status: BlackStorm is offline
Hehe wonder how many people actually reply and send money to those companies...
Id say less than 1%
 
 
 


Old
  Post #8 (permalink)   01-23-2004, 03:22 PM
HD Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 217

Status: HS Nick is offline
You never know. there are alot of dummies in this world. I am sure they are making some money doing it or they would have stoped by now.
__________________
[•] Nick Kelly, Owner
[•] HostingScene.com - Reseller and Shared Web Hosting
 
 
 


Old
  Post #9 (permalink)   01-23-2004, 03:29 PM
HD Guru
 
turnkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 588

Status: turnkey is offline
Yea, if 1% of a million then that is still a lot of poeple and that's if they targeted a million domains. Still, sounds flacky. No site, money orders or check. Humm, sounds like no way to do a charge back...
__________________
Turnkey Resellers
www.turnkeyresellers.com
Reseller Hosting and PHP Programming
 
 
 


Old
  Post #10 (permalink)   01-23-2004, 03:32 PM
HD Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 217

Status: HS Nick is offline
thats how you scam people. i think they got it down to a science.
__________________
[•] Nick Kelly, Owner
[•] HostingScene.com - Reseller and Shared Web Hosting
 
 
 


Old
  Post #11 (permalink)   01-24-2004, 05:24 AM
HD Guru
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: England, UK
Posts: 642

Status: GamesCreation is offline
Quote:
Originally posted by John Diver
Hehe wonder how many people actually reply and send money to those companies...
Id say less than 1%
It was quite tempting, it looked official and if it was timed right, i wouldnt want to lose my domain.
__________________
My Banner Design Thread
 
 
 


Old
  Post #12 (permalink)   01-24-2004, 05:39 AM
HD Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Edinburgh , Scotland
Posts: 190

Status: Decker is offline
Is this the one ?

.eu Registry Services
Unit 255, Parkers House
48 Regent Street
Cambridge CB2 1FD
United Kingdom

http://www.registereu.com
 
 
 


Old
  Post #13 (permalink)   01-24-2004, 10:56 AM
HD Wizard
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 2,100

Status: BlackStorm is offline
Yeah thats the ones Decker.
Remember the address. They dont even offer .net or .com registration from what I can see on their site and the letter they sent me as for a .net domain.

Have you ever got anything from them Decker since your in Scotland?
 
 
 


Old
  Post #14 (permalink)   01-24-2004, 02:25 PM
HD Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Edinburgh , Scotland
Posts: 190

Status: Decker is offline
Yep had the 'oh you'd better or you'll lose it' shot from them - what they do is get people to 'pre-book' domain names too..

I have a load of domain names for various reasons and this stuff gets sent all the time.

Anyone getting this guff send it back as not known or something so they have to pay the return postage. It's a simple rip off. By simple rip off people
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools

New Post New Post   Old Post Old Post
Posting Rules:
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On