Get Paid to Participate     Twitter     Facebook     Google+
Hosting Discussion
 

forgot password?


Reply


Old
  Post #1 (permalink)   07-17-2011, 08:45 AM
CSN-UK | Charlie
 
csn-uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Swindon (UK)
Posts: 470
Send a message via MSN to csn-uk

Status: csn-uk is offline
For the Past year or so increasingly we've been receiving a large number of service offers from assorted need I say it foreign individuals or companies for SEO, Web design, search engine submission... among other things.

Although the bots etc are handled via captcha and filters the human counterparts can easily bypass these measures... as such we had in the past responded with a polite "not interested" type message however with the increasing numbers we've resorted to blacklisting and deleting such emails...

As such what is your policy on such "Semi-Legitimate" offers?
__________________
CSN-UK | Shared Hosting | Dedicated | VPS | Custom Packages Avalible On Request | Quality SSL Certificates from COMODO CA
CSN-UK.net | Server Status | Client Area | Live Support
 
 
 


Old
  Post #2 (permalink)   07-17-2011, 08:57 AM
HD Guru
 
HostLeet's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 625

Status: HostLeet is offline
I usually just delete. If I reply to them with a "not interested, thank you" and they still continue to harass me, I then proceed to block/blacklist them via IP, as well as what domain they use for their email sending.

I would never think of trying out a company that is techinically spamming me.. I don't even know why so many people use it for their marketing strategy in the first place!
__________________
HostLeet.Com LLC - Fully Managed WebSite Hosting Services & Domain Names!
cPanel - LiteSpeed - CloudLinux - Softaculous Auto-Installer - 24/7/365 Support
60-Day RISK FREE Money Back Guarantee - 99.9% Uptime Guarantee - Daily Backups
Register Domain Names - Secure Payment Options - Read Our Most F.A.Q's HERE!
 
 
 


Old
  Post #3 (permalink)   07-17-2011, 09:26 AM
HD Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 38

Status: RobinF is offline
I just ignore things like this. More often than not the message is sent with questionable English. And surely if I'm interested in these services I can find them myself?

Responding usually just has the opposite effect, so just ignore it, throw it in the spam folder and let your spam filter deal with with.
 
 
 


Old
  Post #4 (permalink)   07-17-2011, 10:52 PM
HD Management Staff
 
Artashes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 7,716

Status: Artashes is offline
Urgh, I receive these weekly, if not daily. Spam-attempts to persuade me that my site needs a better ranking. Even if I WAS interested in the service, I would not just give a random person a job.

So I just delete these without even finishing their email. They know they are essentially spamming and they never follow-up, so its not like you are hurting their feelings.
__________________
HostingDiscussion.com - web hosting community for grown-ups.

FORUM RULES | NEWS BLOG | HOSTING SHOWCASE | Follow us on Twitter
 
 
 


Old
  Post #5 (permalink)   07-18-2011, 12:30 AM
HD Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Doncaster, UK.
Posts: 393
Send a message via AIM to Paul0130 Send a message via Skype™ to Paul0130

Status: Paul0130 is offline
lol = Spam = Block on email server (Y)

Don't touch any of those offers you will regret it.
 
 
 


Old
  Post #6 (permalink)   07-18-2011, 02:32 PM
CSN-UK | Charlie
 
csn-uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Swindon (UK)
Posts: 470
Send a message via MSN to csn-uk

Status: csn-uk is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by HostLeet View Post
I would never think of trying out a company that is techinically spamming me.. I don't even know why so many people use it for their marketing strategy in the first place!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Artashes View Post
Urgh, I receive these weekly, if not daily. Spam-attempts to persuade me that my site needs a better ranking. Even if I WAS interested in the service, I would not just give a random person a job.
I can certainly agree that such services aren't the kind that are best suited to such advertising, certainly wouldn't ever hire such an individual... not sure what planet they are on

Quote:
Originally Posted by Artashes View Post
So I just delete these without even finishing their email. They know they are essentially spamming and they never follow-up, so its not like you are hurting their feelings.
You might say that, however we've had a number of follow ups from all be it determined individuals, Initially trying support, technical and then abuse "in that we did not respond" ,hence now black listing them as a rule of thumb... even proceeded as far as having to blacklist an entire country due to the amount of spam
__________________
CSN-UK | Shared Hosting | Dedicated | VPS | Custom Packages Avalible On Request | Quality SSL Certificates from COMODO CA
CSN-UK.net | Server Status | Client Area | Live Support
 
 
 


Old
  Post #7 (permalink)   07-18-2011, 02:46 PM
HD Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 33

Status: HostRadical is offline
Spam is getting annoying to us. In fact, we receive so much spam it is sometimes hard to even find our way through the emails. And we have spam protection and blacklisted multiple IP and senders.

I wonder if their spamming really works.
__________________
HostRadical.com - Reliable Hosting | 99.9% up-time | 24/7 Support (1-Hour Response Time Guarantee) | 30 Day Money Back
Shared Hosting - VPS Hosting - Semi-Dedicated - Dedicated Servers [US/UK/AU/SE]

Elefante Script Installer - Site Studio/Builder - Phone Support
 
 
 


Old
  Post #8 (permalink)   07-19-2011, 02:03 PM
HD Moderator
 
ldcdc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Ploiesti
Posts: 3,100

Status: ldcdc is offline
Hiring a spammer (they typically use a Gmail account and give no website where you can contact them) for SEO services seems like a sure fire way of getting penalized by the search engines for unsavory optimization practices. So, as soon as I get the picture what the email is about, I delete it and don't give it another thought.
 
 
 


Old
  Post #9 (permalink)   07-20-2011, 03:19 PM
HD Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 39

Status: perfectip is offline
I don't even bother reading through these type of emails. I just delete and block them. We get them almost daily.
__________________
Best Regards,
Perfect International
Cloud Solutions
http://www.perfectip.net
 
 
 


Old
  Post #10 (permalink)   07-20-2011, 10:42 PM
HD Master
 
othellotech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 414
Send a message via Skype™ to othellotech

Status: othellotech is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by csn-uk View Post
As such what is your policy on such "Semi-Legitimate" offers?
Drop their ISPs entire range in my blocklist so I never hear from them or anyone else remotely related again
__________________
Rob Golding Othello Technology Systems Ltd (AS29527) est 1996.
UK VPS & Private Cloud Servers | UK Linux + Windows Shared Hosting | London Colo
Affordable Domain Registration @ OthelloNAMES.net (ICANN Accredited) - Free Domain Reseller A/c - PM me.
 
 
 


Old
  Post #11 (permalink)   07-21-2011, 09:36 AM
HD Wizard
 
SenseiSteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Saint Louis
Posts: 3,777
Send a message via MSN to SenseiSteve

Status: SenseiSteve is offline
I get these too, but not so often. I simply delete them and move on.
__________________
Hands-On Web Hosting
cPanel Web Hosting, Domain Registration, Managed VPS Servers
Infusing Markets LLC - A Digital Interactive Marketing Firm
 
 
 


Old
  Post #12 (permalink)   07-27-2011, 11:42 PM
HD Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 13

Status: amiejonson is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by csn-uk View Post
For the Past year or so increasingly we've been receiving a large number of service offers from assorted need I say it foreign individuals or companies for SEO, Web design, search engine submission... among other things.

Although the bots etc are handled via captcha and filters the human counterparts can easily bypass these measures... as such we had in the past responded with a polite "not interested" type message however with the increasing numbers we've resorted to blacklisting and deleting such emails...

As such what is your policy on such "Semi-Legitimate" offers?

wew.. that seems to be irritating.. i find in other forums that there are many security question aside from captcha..
__________________
looking for? DATA Centers & Cloud Services
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools

New Post New Post   Old Post Old Post
Posting Rules:
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On
Sponsored By: