Get Paid to Participate - up to $1 per post!     Twitter     Facebook     Google+
Hosting Discussion
 

forgot password?



Reply


Old
  Post #1 (permalink)   12-07-2014, 06:40 AM
HD Community Advisor
 
SenseiSteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Saint Louis
Posts: 4,945
Send a message via MSN to SenseiSteve

Status: SenseiSteve is offline
I'm curious what your take is on how reviews effect organic SEO SERPS versus Conversions? Obliviously, bad reviews are never good, but taken in the context of hundreds of good reviews, shouldn't affect SEO rank or conversions. My query really is whether Google factors in the star ratings to determine higher or lower positions, or does the sheer volume of reviews count more favorably?

Take for example a company with an average of 3.5 stars over 7 reviews versus a company with an average of 3 stars spread over 92 reviews.

Company two is clearly more "engaged," but does that matter?
 
 
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to SenseiSteve For This Useful Post:
HostZealot (06-11-2015)


Old
  Post #2 (permalink)   12-09-2014, 03:43 PM
HD Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 327

Status: Rado_Ch is offline
Logically speaking the star rating should not matter as one company is clearly much more established, whatever the reputation. If this was not the case than it would be pretty easy to gather a few perfect ratings and dominate the results. Or the larger companies should suffer as you know that with the more popularity come the more nay-sayers.

Whichever the case I think its a factor with such a low importance that the difference in results will be neglectable.
__________________
www.WebHostFace.com where Service always comes with a smiling face!
Contact us for Shared, VPS, Reseller and Dedicated Hosting Solutions.
 
 
 


Old
  Post #3 (permalink)   12-09-2014, 05:19 PM
HD Community Advisor
 
SenseiSteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Saint Louis
Posts: 4,945
Send a message via MSN to SenseiSteve

Status: SenseiSteve is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rado_Ch View Post
Logically speaking the star rating should not matter as one company is clearly much more established, whatever the reputation. If this was not the case than it would be pretty easy to gather a few perfect ratings and dominate the results. Or the larger companies should suffer as you know that with the more popularity come the more nay-sayers.

Whichever the case I think its a factor with such a low importance that the difference in results will be neglectable.
I'm curious if there's been any split testing to determine just how much of a factor reviews are worth to SERPS ranking. Google has been pushing the 'engagement' factor for years.
 
 
 


Old
  Post #4 (permalink)   02-16-2015, 05:16 PM
HD Amateur
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 82

Status: King-Servers is offline
Yes, the number of reviews are more important than 4 stars by 3 users over 3 stars by 90 users.
__________________
Managed & Unmanaged VPS Hosting & Dedicated Servers
Europe & USA by King-Servers.com
 
 
 


Old
  Post #5 (permalink)   02-17-2015, 10:17 AM
HD Amateur
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 69

Status: mr.log is offline
Good or Bad Reviews can be manipulate.
It's true.

the only thing you can do is test your self.
__________________
IWHU LLC.
10 Data Centers: UAE, NL, RO, AU, SW, CA, PK, IN.
DDoS Protection, No DMCA Servers, Clouds Oparetor, ISP & Data Centeres Owners.
http://www.IWebHostU.com| Live Chat | Call Anytime
 
 
 


Old
  Post #6 (permalink)   02-27-2015, 05:22 AM
HD Amateur
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 80

Status: Ajay-HostIN is offline
Reviews are something that can be manipulated so it won't affect the rankings but yes, it can be a reason to drop sales ratio.
 
 
 


Old
  Post #7 (permalink)   05-23-2015, 06:30 AM
HD Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 43
Send a message via Yahoo to HostNesta Send a message via Skype™ to HostNesta

Status: HostNesta is offline
Bad reviews are really bad, no matter how you try to manipulate.

Users will just google a keyword on google, and they won't worry to read all the literature written there.

Their first impression is what really matters to them.
__________________
Cheapest Web Hosting ONLY $0.50/month! by HostNesta.com!
Skrill, Bitcoin, Payeer, Neteller, Webmoney,OKPAY, Perfect Money ...payment options.
 
 
 


Old
  Post #8 (permalink)   06-10-2015, 01:03 AM
HD Amateur
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 53

Status: Vincentas is offline
Well, this is a controversila question - who would like to get bad reviews, right? However, this is a reality that we need to agree and live with. And so far, I see some advantages of bad reviews as well:

1) It shows you what are the spheres that you still need to improve;
2) It might be a good opportunity to show your clients that you care - solve their problems and communicate with them.

However, the biggest disadvantage is that if you handle with those bad reviews not in a right direction - it might easily destroy your reputation which will end up in losing customers.

Well good reviews at one point creates the trust of your brand. But the biggest risk is to fall asleep as you think that everythings works just fine and do nothing more to even increase this trust built.
 
 


Old
  Post #9 (permalink)   06-25-2015, 04:18 AM
HD Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Universe
Posts: 309

Status: kunnusingh is offline
I think google give +1 for bad reviews on google search. I mean If you search "example company reviews" then google will show bad review on #1 page and then show positive review.

Maybe google rank website by "bad word" like "no response, bad support..etc."
__________________
Windows VPS
Web Hosting Yearly & WebHostingLoud.com Hosting Forum
 
 
 


Old
  Post #10 (permalink)   06-28-2015, 11:27 PM
HD Amateur
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 53

Status: Vincentas is offline
It does matter. It shows not only it is engaged, but it also shows that they care about their customers. Reviews can be induced in case a company comunicates with their clients and they can expect that they will be delivered with an answer. Also, when you talk, it is natural that not every answer is satisfying, so the number of bad reviews also increases, so take this in count.
 
 
 


Old
  Post #11 (permalink)   07-14-2015, 05:14 AM
HD Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 167

Status: ScopeHosts is offline
3rd party websites reviews can be counted has 70% fake. Majority of the reviews are filled by web hosting companies. Only few true reviews are given by the clients based on their own interest.

Google giving priority based on the reviews of each domain or websites will lead to misleading of best searches. The visitor has to become more active before choosing misled results.
__________________
ScopeHosts.Com - Beyond Connections... Since:2008
SSD Shared Hosting, VPS and Dedicated Servers.
High Configured Managed Wordpress Hosting|KVM VPS|Visit Website for Improved Look & Feel
 
 
 


Old
  Post #12 (permalink)   08-05-2015, 11:38 PM
HD Master
 
James-A's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 475
Send a message via AIM to James-A Send a message via MSN to James-A

Status: James-A is offline
In the hosting industry, reviews are something that can make you rule the industry or make you close the business. There is a possibility of getting manipulated reviews but as only handful of review sites are having better hold in market, it is hard to get fake reviews which is a good point. You get what you give is something that completely applies now.
__________________
Webhosting.uk.com : cPanel Hosting in UK by WHUK | Domain ID Protection | WHUK's Cloud Hosting Services | WHUK's Dedicated Server Hosting
Great Opportunity :: Join Affiliate Program by WHUK for FREE & earn upto 65% per Sale!
 
 
 


Old
  Post #13 (permalink)   08-21-2015, 03:38 AM
HD Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 49

Status: cwvps is offline
I don't think that people believe the reviews completely. Sure, they take a look, but we all know that reviews can be manipulated. I believe that reviews on forums can be trusted more.
 
 
 


Old
  Post #14 (permalink)   08-21-2015, 07:01 AM
HD Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 43

Status: RDOServers is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by cwvps View Post
I don't think that people believe the reviews completely. Sure, they take a look, but we all know that reviews can be manipulated. I believe that reviews on forums can be trusted more.
There are plenty of people that go around posting fake reviews on forums too!
__________________
RDO Servers - Shared Hosting, Resellers, VPS, Dedicated Servers
Windows Hosting - Plesk 12 - Linux Hosting - cPanel/LiteSpeed/CloudLinux/MariaDB
Live Chat - Automated Backups - SSD's
 
 
 


Old
  Post #15 (permalink)   08-22-2015, 12:27 PM
HD Wizard
 
easyhostmedia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Northumberland, UK
Posts: 4,949
Send a message via MSN to easyhostmedia

Status: easyhostmedia is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by cwvps View Post
I believe that reviews on forums can be trusted more.
you check any forum and you will find review wise 90% will be negative reviews as most people will only post on a forum if they have had a bad experience. then you have forums like WOT who is full of people who will just badmouth a website/host even if they have never visited your site or had any dealings with you.

i once had one on siteadvisor saying they had bad shopping experience on every domain i had registered. even on domains that i had never set up a site on.

i terminated a client for no payment, this client then posted false neg reviews on many forums, even threatened to DDos my server if i did not give him my servers login details, even set up a site on a free domain attacking hosts and then demanding 25 for the comments to be removed.

so a host may have 100 clients and only 1 has a bad experience, so they post a neg review on a forum, so people see that review and decide they are a bad host.
__________________
Terry Robertson - CEO The Easyhost Media Group
Niceday Hosting - Affordable Hosting
PowerSSL - - We Secure your World
The Scamlist Forum - Fighting against scammers
 
 
Reply
Previous Thread Next Thread


Thread Tools

New Post New Post   Old Post Old Post
Posting Rules:
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On
Sponsored By: