Hosting Discussion

Hosting Discussion (http://www.hostingdiscussion.com/)
-   Promotion and Marketing (http://www.hostingdiscussion.com/promotion-marketing/)
-   -   Impact of Twitter? LinkedIn? Reviews? (http://www.hostingdiscussion.com/promotion-marketing/42756-impact-twitter-linkedin-reviews.html)


SenseiSteve 09-06-2016 04:17 PM

Impact of Twitter? LinkedIn? Reviews?
 
I just completed a competitive analysis and it seems the one major difference between the four web hosting providers was one provider's Twitter activity at over 7000 tweets and their vast following on LinkedIn, plus hundreds of positive reviews. They were also only two of the four who were climbing in Google's ranking, and had the best Alexa and SpyFu results.

I keep reading that Twitter and LinkedIn are dying, but I'm curious what your take is on those two? I'm thinking the reviews must have been the prevailing factor here.

JSCL 09-06-2016 04:39 PM

For building clients and really reaching people, Facebook is much better.

The nature of Twitter's content does not attract the same level of engagement as FB. Spending money on Twitter advertising is a waste, throw it at Facebook instead, the ROI will be far better. I say this from being in this industry and also a sports body that was spending some 10k p/m on social media advertising.

LinkedIn has good uses though. When our corporate team is pitching for contracts and business for IT services outside of our hosting brands, LinkedIn is very important not only for making the right connections but in terms of building a business profile and seeing who is working for that business.

LicenseStore 09-07-2016 03:31 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JSCL (Post 194344)
For building clients and really reaching people, Facebook is much better.

The nature of Twitter's content does not attract the same level of engagement as FB. Spending money on Twitter advertising is a waste, throw it at Facebook instead, the ROI will be far better. I say this from being in this industry and also a sports body that was spending some 10k p/m on social media advertising.

LinkedIn has good uses though. When our corporate team is pitching for contracts and business for IT services outside of our hosting brands, LinkedIn is very important not only for making the right connections but in terms of building a business profile and seeing who is working for that business.


Hi,

Totally agree with it. FB is much better for ads over Twitter. Also, it will actually reach your target audience and will give appropriate and fast ROI.

Regards.

zomex 09-07-2016 07:35 AM

I recently tried signing up with Linkedin but had issues with regarding to registering as a company instead of myself. They seem to have some rules against not using your actual name. If anyone is using it as a company I'd love to hear from you.

Although I don't put a crazy amount of time into social media I've always found that Facebook is more powerful for converting into sales. I treat it very much like I would an email list, it's another way to reach my existing customer's and keep them up to date with new products/services.

RSP-Victor 09-07-2016 09:26 AM

I can second that, Facebook ads give you the best ROI. However, the whole nature of the social networks is different - Facebook has far more info about its users and what are their interests and therefore, the ads will be much more targeted.

However, a shoutout from the right person on Twitter can also generate quite the attention and bring in a few customers. And if you operate in a niche or a market with a strong Twitter presence, having an active profile can be very beneficial for your brand.

greenwebpage 09-07-2016 10:16 AM

In my opion FB is a the best for ads in social media.generate fast sells.
Olso is good to have Twiiter and LinkedIn maybe come few sells,but is very good for branding you bussinses.

Occupant 09-08-2016 07:16 PM

Facebook all the way. Easy to do and so populated.

Optimidia 10-05-2016 11:52 PM

How many of you actually have successful hosting ad campaigns running on Facebook? Would love to see a little proof of that. I've also worked in the Travel industry and while it does have quiet a good outreach I feel that it's mostly young adults (or kids) who are on Facebook. You can specify a target demographic, interests and so on but I still have yet to see an actual good ROI.

xtm_mike 10-06-2016 01:31 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Optimidia (Post 195271)
How many of you actually have successful hosting ad campaigns running on Facebook? Would love to see a little proof of that. I've also worked in the Travel industry and while it does have quiet a good outreach I feel that it's mostly young adults (or kids) who are on Facebook. You can specify a target demographic, interests and so on but I still have yet to see an actual good ROI.

I've tested Facebook ads and not gained any decent ROI yet, I'm still getting to grips with it though.. while it's easy to setup, getting the right image, supporting text and targeting the right people requires more work, and as I've found, won't delivery if you dont get it right.

Facebook complains about text in images with almost all of my ads even though it barely has any.

wizzo85 12-17-2016 03:58 PM

I have had more success with facebook over twitter. Thats just my experience.

Sohan.RS 12-26-2016 04:42 AM

In my experience FB is the choice. It gives best Return for my Investment.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:14 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.1.0