Add to Favorites
Hosting Discussion
 

forgot password?


Reply


Old
  Post #1 (permalink)   06-01-2004, 07:01 AM
HD Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 253

Status: imported_Stephen is offline
Hey
Could anyone give me some advice as to how to check for a

spammer on a server?
I have the one site on a server that has a lot of mail in the

mail queue, a lot more than all other sites put together

(Talking thousands here) and I don't know if most of these

emails are being sent to the account, or sent from it.

I would like to know how any one domain could get so many

emails if they are being sent to the account.

I have done some tweaks on the server to stop spam being

received but nothing seems to effect the mail queue.

I have a seperate question, which is how to stop the mail queue

getting so big but I will post that is a seperate thread

Thanks
 
 
 


Old
  Post #2 (permalink)   06-05-2004, 04:33 PM
HD Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 284

Status: Freckled is offline
Hey Stephen I go throught this with clients all the time, I am assuming you are using cpanel since you are talking about the mail queue. In the WHM panel you will also see in that area check relayers and view statistics in the mail section, Check both of those it will give you an idea if the mails are being sent by this person or not. 99% of the time they are getting all these spam mails though and if they are you can really cut down on CPU and mail queue backlog by teaching them to use the blackhole option and set up other email names. If the person is sending them they may have a very old list that they need to update and weed out the bad mail address that is of course if they aren't spamming.
__________________
Stop on by and say hello!
Arizona bound!!
FreckleFaceHosting.com
 
 
 


Old
  Post #3 (permalink)   06-07-2004, 06:24 AM
HD Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 253

Status: imported_Stephen is offline
Thank you for the help Freckled
I will check this now to see what exactly is happening, when I checked the relayers/stats there was so much information it was hard to understand
 
 
 


Old
  Post #4 (permalink)   06-07-2004, 06:47 PM
HD Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 400

Status: imported_maxhest is offline
Go through mail logs , ask steve-rack911 about that one
__________________
Max
www.moon-hosting.com
Premium Linux Hosting :tux:
A MoonInteractive Company
 
 
 


Old
  Post #5 (permalink)   06-09-2004, 05:14 AM
HD Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 253

Status: imported_Stephen is offline
Is Steve on Hosting Refuge?
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools

New Post New Post   Old Post Old Post
Posting Rules:
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On