Add to Favorites
Hosting Discussion
 

Hosting Discussion > Web Hosting Forums > Web Hosting Discussion > A site is somehow directing to mine...but why??
forgot password?


Reply


Old
  Post #1 (permalink)   07-05-2004, 01:46 PM
HD Wizard
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 2,100

Status: BlackStorm is offline
Hey,
Please go to http://www.templatebase.net/rn/rnhost.htm
It is directing to my site and i don't know why.
At first i thought it was trying to take credit for my site in their portfolio or something, but there doesn't seem to be anything on the site.
I noticed a few referrals from there, so went to check it out but cant find anything.

You can't list the directory http://www.templatebase.net/rn/ I tried that to see what else they had in there.

It just seems weird and I can't work out why they are linking to me..
 
 
 


Old
  Post #2 (permalink)   07-05-2004, 02:03 PM
HD Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 16

Status: teammobot is offline
I can't find any links.

I've also seen some pretty wierd sites linking to mine... without any visible links. Everything from Dutch real estate sites to Anime sites in Japanese.
__________________
Nick
WebMultitude.NET, LLC
 
 
 


Old
  Post #3 (permalink)   07-05-2004, 02:06 PM
HD Wizard
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 2,100

Status: BlackStorm is offline
Yeah I get the same thing..
I am getting a lot of car modding sites that are showing as referrals in my stats for some reason.
Really can't work that one out.
They are all seperate sites, but I can't find one link to my site on them.
Weird to have a lot of sites with the same content linking to me.
Always get unusual sites in my logs though, just forget about them now because I know there isn't really a link there
 
 
 


Old
  Post #4 (permalink)   07-05-2004, 04:24 PM
HD Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 485

Status: Lesli is offline
The only thing I can think of is that the template and design sites are trying to adapt a tactic to get traffic from blogs. Various sites - usually porn sites - will create temporary links from their site to some high-traffic blog that makes it referrers visible, in hopes of snagging either some traffic, a higher pagerank, or both.

Maybe these web-service sites are trying this to "advertise" to hosts: set up a page like this, visit their site a few times, the host visits along the backlink to see what's up...and maybe-just-maybe decides to buy something from them.

Of course, I could be totally wrong...
__________________
Lesli Schauf, TLM Network
Linux and Windows Shared Hosting: Scribehost
 
 
 


Old
  Post #5 (permalink)   07-05-2004, 04:30 PM
HD Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 16

Status: teammobot is offline
Quote:
Originally posted by Lesli
The only thing I can think of is that the template and design sites are trying to adapt a tactic to get traffic from blogs. Various sites - usually porn sites - will create temporary links from their site to some high-traffic blog that makes it referrers visible, in hopes of snagging either some traffic, a higher pagerank, or both.

Maybe these web-service sites are trying this to "advertise" to hosts: set up a page like this, visit their site a few times, the host visits along the backlink to see what's up...and maybe-just-maybe decides to buy something from them.

Of course, I could be totally wrong...
Wow, never knew people did that.
__________________
Nick
WebMultitude.NET, LLC
 
 
 


Old
  Post #6 (permalink)   07-06-2004, 12:17 PM
HD Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 348

Status: RobAPI is offline
I didn't know they did it either.
Guess you have just given out your marketing secret for backlinks Lesli

That is a very good theory though..could be true, seems like a good tatic.

So why would car modding site link to sites, or seem to, when they have nothing to offer and if they are normal, legit sites?
__________________
Robert
 
 
 


Old
  Post #7 (permalink)   07-06-2004, 12:31 PM
HD Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 400

Status: imported_maxhest is offline
Hmm, Odd. I have never seen that - ever. Is it the guy that designed your site that owns that template site?
__________________
Max
www.moon-hosting.com
Premium Linux Hosting :tux:
A MoonInteractive Company
 
 
 


Old
  Post #8 (permalink)   07-07-2004, 11:07 PM
HD Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 208

Status: imported_Andrew is offline
Quote:
Originally posted by Lesli
The only thing I can think of is that the template and design sites are trying to adapt a tactic to get traffic from blogs. Various sites - usually porn sites - will create temporary links from their site to some high-traffic blog that makes it referrers visible, in hopes of snagging either some traffic, a higher pagerank, or both.

Maybe these web-service sites are trying this to "advertise" to hosts: set up a page like this, visit their site a few times, the host visits along the backlink to see what's up...and maybe-just-maybe decides to buy something from them.

Of course, I could be totally wrong...
Finally a reasonable explanation...

Ive been seeing ALOT of referrals from various "adult" types of sites - funny thing is, they are all hosted by the same company..

Was really starting to annoy me - Ive searched everywhere for an answer - and none of the experts ever gave me a reason that made sense... I cant believe the extent people will stoop too - but, that aside, thanks for the theory - it is appreciated...
 
 
 


Old
  Post #9 (permalink)   07-08-2004, 04:39 AM
HD Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 148

Status: alpha is offline
Those links you posted john no longer work.
__________________
http://fry-my-noodle.com
The knowledgebase forum that refuses to take itself seriously
 
 
 


Old
  Post #10 (permalink)   07-15-2004, 08:04 PM
Unregistered
 
Posts: n/a

Status:
Hey John..you must have forgotten I was designing a flash header for you at sitepoint..Remember me know (tbase)I took down the links when the contest ended....Sorry for the confusion..I seen this thread in my server logs...
 
 
 


Old
  Post #11 (permalink)   07-20-2004, 01:23 PM
HD Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 348

Status: RobAPI is offline
Were you linking to the site in your portfolio or something like that?
__________________
Robert
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools

New Post New Post   Old Post Old Post
Posting Rules:
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On