Add to Favorites     Get Paid to Participate     Twitter     Facebook     Google+
Hosting Discussion
 

Hosting Discussion > Web Hosting Forums > Web Hosting Discussion > Hostingfleet.net has stolen our entire website (images and content)
forgot password?


Reply


Old
  Post #1 (permalink)   11-08-2009, 04:03 PM
HD Amateur
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 61

Status: gearworx is offline
I love to see how a company can so easily steal website content, images and just pull it off as their own. They've literally taken every single image, as well as text and just posted it on their own website! Shame!

hostingfleet.net copied from gearworx.net. To add insult to the injury, look at this: http://hostingfleet.net/images/hosti...trol_panel.png (look at the bottom, it even says Gearworx)
__________________
Gearworx - Dual Platform and VPS hosting
 
 
 


Old
  Post #2 (permalink)   11-08-2009, 05:29 PM
Cyber Specialist
 
cyberworldhost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Colorado
Posts: 445

Status: cyberworldhost is offline
I would contact them and ask them to redo there website design or you will have to take it to the next level. Probably some kid just starting out. Best of luck.
__________________
► Cyberworld Hosting
►| A Place To Mold Your Web Universe |
►| Cpanel & Fantastico | Affordable Web Hosting | Blog Hosting|
►| sales@cyberworldhosting.com |
 
 
 


Old
  Post #3 (permalink)   11-08-2009, 05:29 PM
HD Guru
 
siforek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 663

Status: siforek is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by gearworx View Post
I love to see how a company can so easily steal website content, images and just pull it off as their own. They've literally taken every single image, as well as text and just posted it on their own website! Shame!

hostingfleet.net copied from gearworx.net. To add insult to the injury, look at this: http://hostingfleet.net/images/hosti...trol_panel.png (look at the bottom, it even says Gearworx)
I can't count how many times this has happened to me as well The first feeling for me is shock, then thoughts of "if it's good enough to copy, I must have done something write", but at the end of the day it's theft and there's not anything much more frustrating than that.

From my experience companies/people that blatantly copy others do not have the funding to go unique in the first place, so efforts to recoup anything monetary from them is generally useless. My best suggestion is to simply file a DCMA with their provider to have it removed. That's about all you can do other than make the public aware of the situation which will "kill" any credibility they have, and from my experience will in many cases "kill" their business as well.
__________________
| | Fiber Elephant | | Virtuozzo & Reseller Hosting
█ | Never oversold, always managed & on the SoftLayer network!
█ | Call us toll free 24/7! | 1-888-92-FIBER
 
 
 


Old
  Post #4 (permalink)   11-08-2009, 05:42 PM
HD Management Staff
 
Artashes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 7,522

Status: Artashes is offline
Well that is just too hilarious! That blunt of a copy leaves me without words.

I am actually quite convinced that they paid someone little money who decided to just steal other people's work, or they probably purchased the pre-made template/site.

Regardless, send them and their source provider a cease and desist letter. Usually this will be taken care of fast enough.

Let us know how it goes!
__________________
HostingDiscussion.com - web hosting community for grown-ups.

FORUM RULES | NEWS BLOG | HOSTING SHOWCASE | Follow us on Twitter
 
 
 


Old
  Post #5 (permalink)   11-09-2009, 01:04 AM
HD Amateur
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 61

Status: gearworx is offline
Wonderful, this person is a past customer of Gearworx (585 days to day), which left on amicable terms. Seems like he feels entitled to copy the website? I don't know...
__________________
Gearworx - Dual Platform and VPS hosting
 
 
 


Old
  Post #6 (permalink)   11-09-2009, 01:38 AM
HD Amateur
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Cardiff, UK
Posts: 59

Status: Devoted Hosting is offline
Sorry to hear about this. It's never nice when this happens. Hopefully you can get it sorted, and I can't imagine a host that would steal another company's property would last long (hopefully)
__________________
Devoted Hosting
High Quality Shared And Reseller Hosting
cPanel, 24/7 support, 99.9% uptime guaranteed
Tristan Perry, Devoted Hosting Manager
 
 
 


Old
  Post #7 (permalink)   11-09-2009, 11:39 AM
HD Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 10

Status: DavidJames is offline
As mentioned earlier, file a DMCA with their provider and have the copyrighted material removed. Not only does it destroy their credibility, it's also illegal. However, what do they say? Imitation is the most sincere form of flattery.
__________________
David James
Sales Support, ServInt.net
http://blog.servint.net
RELAX. Your server is up and running.
 
 
 


Old
  Post #8 (permalink)   11-09-2009, 12:09 PM
HD Rocks !!
 
Steve-Hostirian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Saint Louis
Posts: 3,669
Send a message via MSN to Steve-Hostirian

Status: Steve-Hostirian is offline
Pretty blunt copy - let us know how your DMCA works out.
__________________
Hostirian | St. Louis Data Centers
Colocation - Dedicated Servers - VPS
WDTalk - A web development, business, SEO and hosting blog
 
 
 


Old
  Post #9 (permalink)   11-28-2009, 01:19 AM
HD Amateur
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 61

Status: gearworx is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrPhucker213 View Post
If you guys are looking to increase your small business's profit and potential customers. You will need a website. And to have a website you will need a Webhost. To Figure out which web hosting Co. is rite for you i suggest checking out www.**************** for great info regarding webhosting!
Hey, thanks for spamming the thread...
__________________
Gearworx - Dual Platform and VPS hosting
 
 
 


Old
  Post #10 (permalink)   11-28-2009, 08:05 AM
HD Guru
 
HostLeet's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 562

Status: HostLeet is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrPhucker213 View Post
If you guys are looking to increase your small business's profit and potential customers. You will need a website. And to have a website you will need a Webhost. To Figure out which web hosting Co. is rite for you i suggest checking out www.**************** for great info regarding webhosting!
That site is nothing but a bunch of affiliate links, and does nothing to help consumers pick a good host....
__________________
HostLeet.Com, LLC - Affordable Fully Managed WebSite Hosting
LiteSpeed Powered - CloudLinux Stability - Softaculous - 24/7 Technical Support
60-Day Money Back Guarantee - 99.9% Uptime Guarantee - Automatic Backups
Multi-Domain Hosting - Domain Names - ID Protection - Flexible Payment Terms!
 
 
 


Old
  Post #11 (permalink)   11-28-2009, 10:51 AM
HD Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 33

Status: affordahost is offline
We were contacted once by someone who'd found another site using our design & content - literally just replaced the company name & logo! We contacted them... it turned out to be a teenager, so we just explained that they'd need to remove it or we'd take further action & luckily he took it down pretty quickly
__________________
Afford A Host: Provider of reliable web hosting, domain and design solutions since Jan 05
Afford A Host UK / US / EU
 
 
 


Old
  Post #12 (permalink)   11-28-2009, 12:32 PM
HD Amateur
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 61

Status: gearworx is offline
Folks, thank you all for the feedback. We were able to get them to remove the website content for the time being.
__________________
Gearworx - Dual Platform and VPS hosting
 
 
 


Old
  Post #13 (permalink)   11-29-2009, 08:14 AM
HD Guru
 
siforek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 663

Status: siforek is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by gearworx View Post
Wonderful, this person is a past customer of Gearworx (585 days to day), which left on amicable terms. Seems like he feels entitled to copy the website? I don't know...
This is oddly familiar.. Something VERY similar happened to me a few years ago. They stiffed me out of a few hundred in development work, then took my entire site design/content, etc..
__________________
| | Fiber Elephant | | Virtuozzo & Reseller Hosting
█ | Never oversold, always managed & on the SoftLayer network!
█ | Call us toll free 24/7! | 1-888-92-FIBER
 
 
 


Old
  Post #14 (permalink)   11-29-2009, 03:02 PM
HD Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 30

Status: Taba-Volsh is offline
I don't know how this apply in legally terms.
Because lot of people put at the bottom of their webpages that the site has copyright "...", but do you register your content and images?

If not, for me they are free to use anywhere (In legal terms).
__________________
» Volsh.com « » Volsh redefines web hosting! «
» Fully Managed & Fully Loaded VPS Solutions «
» See website for details. «
 
 
 


Old
  Post #15 (permalink)   11-30-2009, 06:43 AM
HD Guru
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 536

Status: AbbieRose is offline
I have had a pair of for pleasure sites stolen in the past, including the custom graphics that I had made. They weren't as silly as to include my info, but replaced it throughout with their own, but all of the layouts and text were carbon copy. Rather sad really.
 
 
 
Reply
Previous Thread Next Thread


Thread Tools

New Post New Post   Old Post Old Post
Posting Rules:
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On
Sponsored By: