Get Paid to Participate     Twitter     Facebook     Google+
Hosting Discussion
 

forgot password?


Reply


Old
  Post #1 (permalink)   04-26-2010, 11:23 AM
HD Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1

Status: karlbeau is offline
Hello - we host hundreds of customers on several servers and we've recently been experiencing problems with the outgoing email for our customers. Their mail is not getting through because our supposedly our hosting server was listed as "suspicious." We have jumped through all the hoops for the big ISP's and have searched all blacklists without finding any problems.

How can we get this problem solved? Any ideas?

Thanks!
 
 
 


Old
  Post #2 (permalink)   04-26-2010, 12:08 PM
HD Community Advisor
 
handsonhosting's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 2,008

Status: handsonhosting is offline
You need to contact your datacenter. Is it only one particular ISP that's blocking you? Maybe AT&T ?

If you contact your datacenter, provide them the blocked email report, they can help get you unblocked. Most ISPs will only talk to the IP OWNER (the datacenter) and not the reseller (you).

Also, check your server and make sure that no spam was headed out.
__________________
Conor Treacy
http://www.HandsOnWebHosting.com
cPanel Web Hosting, Domain Registration, Managed VPS Servers
SEO in Omaha NE
 
 
 


Old
  Post #3 (permalink)   04-26-2010, 01:38 PM
HD Wizard
 
SenseiSteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Saint Louis
Posts: 3,778
Send a message via MSN to SenseiSteve

Status: SenseiSteve is online now
Alas, that is one of my jobs here - sorting through blacklisted IPs and trying to get them straightened out. It's a real pain. Like Conor said, it could just be MSN or AOL or whatever.
__________________
Hands-On Web Hosting
cPanel Web Hosting, Domain Registration, Managed VPS Servers
Infusing Markets LLC - A Digital Interactive Marketing Firm
 
 
 


Old
  Post #4 (permalink)   04-27-2010, 01:09 AM
HD Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 9

Status: Michael-Cliff is offline
You need to check if the mail server IP is blacklisted.
Check if there is reverse dns set for the IP.
Set spf records for the domains.
Setup domain-keys.
__________________
Michael
www.cliffsupport.com
Affordable Server Management Solutions
FFmpeg Installation Service
 
 
 


Old
  Post #5 (permalink)   04-27-2010, 06:34 AM
Reseller Specialist
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 479
Send a message via AIM to XeHSean Send a message via MSN to XeHSean

Status: XeHSean is offline
What is the main server IP? Most likely it has been blacklisted
__________________
XeHost.net - Hosting websites since 1999!
Shared Hosting, Reseller Hosting, VPS Hosting, and Dedicated Servers
End-User Support, WHMCS, and WHMReseller for Reseller Hosting Packages!
Follow us on Twitter - new special every Sunday! @XeHost
 
 
 


Old
  Post #6 (permalink)   04-27-2010, 08:09 AM
HD Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 9

Status: madaboutlinux is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by karlbeau View Post
Hello - we host hundreds of customers on several servers and we've recently been experiencing problems with the outgoing email for our customers. Their mail is not getting through because our supposedly our hosting server was listed as "suspicious." We have jumped through all the hoops for the big ISP's and have searched all blacklists without finding any problems.

How can we get this problem solved? Any ideas?

Thanks!
Check your main server IP (by default the main IP is used as a mail server IP) in mxtoolbox . com and click "MX Lookup". Your IP will be checked against most of the RBLs and DNSBLs lists and will show you where the IP is black listed.

If you contact them they will provide you the exact reason of why you are listed in their database. You will have to make the changes accordingly and request them for the removal of your IP.

BTW, do you receive any specific error messages in the mail logs?
__________________
Linux WebHosting Solutions
http://linuxhostingsupport.net/blog/
MSN: madaboutlinux@hotmail.com
 
 
 


Old
  Post #7 (permalink)   04-27-2010, 10:07 AM
HD Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: India
Posts: 3

Status: eukhostsupport is offline
Quickly check your IP in black list RBLs and DNSBLs, contact your hosting/DC providers, more, check your rDNS add SPF record and check logs for client who is violating limitation rules , some client must be sending bulk email causing blacklist. Or you must have give space to spammer.
__________________
Eukhostsupport
24/7 Proactive support, Outsource
 
 
 


Old
  Post #8 (permalink)   05-03-2010, 01:06 PM
HD Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 19

Status: micheal312 is offline
It seems your ip is blacklisted in real time blacklist. Use mxtoolbox to check your mail server IP address against 147 DNS based email blacklists. Exact link:http://www.mxtoolbox.com/blacklists.aspx . This issue may occur for one of the following reasons:
* Hosting account may be hacked and from there spammer/hacker relaying the mails to plenty of mail addresses as a real sender.
* Check mail server is set with reverse dns
* Check spf is set for all your domains. The SPF system is used to stop people from forging your domain name in email
__________________
** Tophostingcenter.com**
--> Affordable! CLOUD HOSTING FOR YOU AND YOUR BUSINESS
--> Sign up now and get services like website transfer, installations upgrades!
--> Cpanel Cloud hosting - Now AVAILABLE - 100% uptime

Last edited by micheal312 : 05-03-2010 at 01:07 PM. Reason: Typo..
 
 
 


Old
  Post #9 (permalink)   05-04-2010, 05:23 AM
HD Addict
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 238
Send a message via MSN to supportfacility

Status: supportfacility is offline
All suggested very good info/task to do. We have faced such issue. Probably mail server ip gets blacklisted due to spamming. I have seen that there are few reseller creates new hosting accounts and use them to spam. Uploads the scripts and then delete that user/hosting account and gets script running.
 
 
 


Old
  Post #10 (permalink)   05-04-2010, 08:52 AM
HD Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Arizona
Posts: 7

Status: Jason_CT is offline
Providing reliable email services can be a real challenge. We have found that email support makes up for a good portion of our day unfortunately.
Some of the biggest causes for this are as follows:
1. Email campaigns using outdated email lists.
2. Email accounts that have been compromised by spammers.
3. Uniformed email users and or undefined bulk email policies.
4. Hyper active RBL’s
Some Blacklists can be straight forward on the removal process while others are a real nightmare. What do the headers on the bounced email indicate? Email me one of the headers and or log information and I will see if I can make some suggestions.
 
 
 


Old
  Post #11 (permalink)   05-04-2010, 11:52 AM
HD Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Lake Geneva, WI
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to Mia_ Send a message via MSN to Mia_ Send a message via Yahoo to Mia_

Status: Mia_ is offline
Another fine example of why blacklists are bad.
__________________
Jeremy Kinsey
Bella Mia, Inc. - HostDrive.com
 
 
 


Old
  Post #12 (permalink)   05-05-2010, 03:25 AM
HD Amateur
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: California, USA
Posts: 85
Send a message via AIM to Taylor-e2

Status: Taylor-e2 is offline
I'm sure your outgoing mail server has just been blacklisted, make sure you contacting whoever and get it straightened out and add a spf record.
__________________
Eleven2 Web Hosting - Shared, Reseller and Dynamic Dedicated Hosting, Done Right!
Eleven2 Cloud Servers launching in March 2010
Providing 24x7 Support through Live Chat, Telephone and E-Mail
www.eleven2.com | 1-866-ELEVEN2
 
 
 


Old
  Post #13 (permalink)   05-07-2010, 01:07 AM
HD Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 3
Send a message via Yahoo to sher alam khan

Status: sher alam khan is offline
check the logs elaborately and check for the ip addresses, that if they are black listed. hope you will find something there.
 
 
 


Old
  Post #14 (permalink)   05-08-2010, 02:07 PM
HD Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 138
Send a message via ICQ to ayksolutions Send a message via AIM to ayksolutions Send a message via MSN to ayksolutions Send a message via Yahoo to ayksolutions

Status: ayksolutions is offline
Some blacklists, like SORBS are horrible. They blacklist you because there are no rDNS records set. What kind of crap is that? And then it's impossible to get that blacklisting removed for months at a time!
__________________
www.AYKsolutions.com - Atlanta, Jacksonville, Chicago, Los Angeles
From Shared to Dedicated - High bandwidth plans & VPS available
Professional. Painless. Polite.
 
 
 


Old
  Post #15 (permalink)   05-15-2010, 09:46 PM
HD Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 13

Status: servermanage is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by karlbeau View Post
Hello - we host hundreds of customers on several servers and we've recently been experiencing problems with the outgoing email for our customers. Their mail is not getting through because our supposedly our hosting server was listed as "suspicious." We have jumped through all the hoops for the big ISP's and have searched all blacklists without finding any problems.

How can we get this problem solved? Any ideas?

Thanks!
Try getting a different sub c from your provider, and check the outgoing logs for error messages which will tell you what RBL needs to be addressed,
 
 
 
Reply
Previous Thread Next Thread


Thread Tools

New Post New Post   Old Post Old Post
Posting Rules:
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On
Sponsored By: