Get Paid to Participate     Twitter     Facebook     Google+
Hosting Discussion
 

forgot password?


Closed Thread


Old
  Post #1 (permalink)   04-06-2002, 09:45 PM
HD Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 6

Status: Eric Radtke is offline
http://www.championhost.com

Compare the big splash image to http://www.intersurge.com (original)

Also, compare the text on champion host to http://www.centrisweb.net (original)

Pretty pathetic.
 
 


Old
  Post #2 (permalink)   04-07-2002, 12:12 AM
HD Amateur
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 54
Send a message via ICQ to beepbeep Send a message via AIM to beepbeep Send a message via Yahoo to beepbeep

Status: beepbeep is offline
ok i dont see anything from either site that matches what am i missing?


Thanks
Daniel
__________________
Volume Hosting
AIM: VHClientCenter YIM:VolumeHosting
http://volumehosting.com
We have Phone Support too!
 
 


Old
  Post #3 (permalink)   04-07-2002, 11:06 AM
HD Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 6

Status: Eric Radtke is offline
Ok, I have attached the screenshots of all 3 sites and circled the copied parts so you can see what I'm talking about.

First, they stole the big image with the customer rep and the InterSurge logo in the background with the words "Powerful web hosting with professional service", "Find out how we do it", "See what our customers think", etc.

Underneath that image on champion host are 3 paragraphs, starting with "Not satisfied with your current hosting solution? Champion Host provides quality hosting services starting from $7.95 a month. Have your website hosted on quality servers, and have great support staff at hand." Those 3 paragraphs were ripped straight from CentrisWeb's homepage. Also take a look at the text on champion host's Hosting, eCommerce, Resellers, and Contact pages and compare them to the pages on CentrisWeb, and you will notice that the text is exactly the same except for where they replaced CentrisWeb's name with champion host.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg championhostrip.jpg (47.7 KB, 26 views)
 
 


Old
  Post #4 (permalink)   04-07-2002, 11:40 AM
HD Amateur
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 54
Send a message via ICQ to beepbeep Send a message via AIM to beepbeep Send a message via Yahoo to beepbeep

Status: beepbeep is offline
I see it now

Damn thief
__________________
Volume Hosting
AIM: VHClientCenter YIM:VolumeHosting
http://volumehosting.com
We have Phone Support too!
 
 


Old
  Post #5 (permalink)   04-07-2002, 01:12 PM
HD Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 6

Status: Eric Radtke is offline
Yeah, damn thief is right. :judge:

It's not like they stole the entire design, but it is still upsetting to see someone else use your company's graphics or text without permission, especially when it is a blatant rip like this. What is also frustrating is that their provider, Rackshack, is not doing anything about it, even though we have contacted their abuse department several times and spoken to people there on the phone and at their chat room.
 
 


Old
  Post #6 (permalink)   04-07-2002, 06:45 PM
HD Amateur
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 76

Status: Sessionmedia is offline
YA that is a blatent rip of an image they didn't even alter it in any way just cut and paste onto their site. same with the text. I can't understand why they would even use someone elses wording??

I mean comeon it's not that hard to come up with some origional BS stuff to say on your site. So they must be really stupid if they had to even rip the text.
__________________
Jreis - co-owner
.:Sessionmedia:.
 
 


Old
  Post #7 (permalink)   04-08-2002, 12:48 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 11

Status: remardis is offline
My first thought when I see a 'ripped' site is:

Does the webmaster really know what they are doing? Do they know that they are shooting themselves in the foot. I had once heard from someone that they did this just to gain attention. Well in my eyes, bad attention is worse than no attention.

A lot of people believe that they will not get caught. However, some of them do not even take the time to change ANY wording... not even links sometimes. I have had images stolen from my site, and they even left it so that the image was being lifted right off my server. Well, one look at the referral logs and they were caught.

Just my .02

Eric
 
 


Old
  Post #8 (permalink)   04-08-2002, 07:45 AM
HD Amateur
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 76

Status: Sessionmedia is offline
Yes remardis,

I have seen my images used on other sites and when I looked at the sites source code or even my logs I notice they did not even cut and paste the image all they did was link right to the image on my server. Although I have only had that happen once.

My thoughts when I see a ripped site is one this is obviously someone who must not know who to make a good site themselves so they just rip one. Not caring about getting cought.
Sorta like a kid who takes money out of their mothers pocket they no they shouldn't but they can not make their own so they steal it.

if a person can't even make their own site even a "so-so" site I can't imagen how they are running their servers. I would not trust someone like that. It shows they are unprofessional.
__________________
Jreis - co-owner
.:Sessionmedia:.
 
 


Old
  Post #9 (permalink)   09-05-2005, 01:58 AM
HD Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 13

Status: paidhosting is offline
omg why am i only seeing google ads all over it and nothing else ?
 
 


Old
  Post #10 (permalink)   09-05-2005, 06:28 AM
HD Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,725

Status: webfreak08 is offline
Last post was in 2002. Keep the new threads alive! Thread closed.
 
 
Closed Thread

Thread Tools

New Post New Post   Old Post Old Post
Posting Rules:
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On
Sponsored By: