LiveChat discussions

I enjoy talking with customers :) While someone else is waiting and his problem is urgent I usually kindly ask if there is anything else I can help with or I am informing that I will be back after few minutes if he/she doesn't mind, because (reason). Honestly and kind, that's they way I think.

It's not bad to chat sometimes with the customer to keep them comfortable, but 15 minutes of chatting when there are people with real problems seems like a little too much.

Politeness is the key to directing them towards their problem or off the line entirely.

If you're busy, politely ask them if they have any additional questions, but if you're not I don't see what's wrong to have a little side chatter. Adds a bit of personal touch. :D

You could simply ask if you could call them back in a few minutes. If they ask why, just say you're getting backlogged with calls at the moment. Honesty works. Just make sure you call them back. :D
I worked as a technical support before. This is the way I used.

^_^

Live chat is good for sales, for support it's better to use ticket system. With ticket system you will more focus on the problem. Trying to give support by live chat when the customer don't stop typing is not very easy.

As previously mentioned, getting to know the customer is always a good thing. Also small things like 'how are you today', 'have a great day', and positive words help a lot. Having been with lots of hosts who say 'this has been done' really makes you feel like a number. Polite, professional while casual and helpful is the way to go!

Obviously, talking more with them enables you to understand their mind more. Actually, when a customer comes to live chat it surely means that he/she needs your product sooner or later, so being in touch and forming a friendship relationship will help greatly.