Hosting Discussion

Hosting Discussion (https://www.hostingdiscussion.com/)
-   Web Hosting Reviews (https://www.hostingdiscussion.com/web-hosting-reviews/)
-   -   WARNING - Deceptive webhosting - Espinda.com - Deceptive (https://www.hostingdiscussion.com/web-hosting-reviews/3832-warning-deceptive-webhosting-espinda-com-deceptive.html)


espinda 08-16-2004 11:39 PM

WARNING - Deceptive webhosting - Espinda.com - Deceptive
 
I thought the idea of unlimited bandwidth and webspace sounded great but when I signed up for Espinda.com, I realize I made a mistake. I cannot upload files a lot of the time and the server times out all the time. The customer service is not helpful and they will blame the customer for problems that occur. Very unprofessional and it's very deceptive. In addition, the web server runs very slow. The email forwarding does not work which made my website loose some business.

Everyone, please also list other deceptive or poorly managed hosting companies for the rest of us.

Thanks! My email is cashzzz@hotmail.com for people who wish to respond to me.

Simon 08-16-2004 11:53 PM

"Unlimited disk space" and "unlimited transfer" always sounds good when you're a little green in the hosting sector.

Neither of the two are possible, and the end result is always messy; dead servers.

My advice would be to look for a hosting company that doesn't focus merely on massive quotas, and dirt cheap prices.

When you find a hosting company that you like the look of, do a search for them - on here, on google, on webhostingtalk, and as many places as you can think of.

Research = peace of mind. Peace of mind = happy customer.

Simon

Blue 08-17-2004 04:55 AM

I've said it before and I'll say it again.

Don't choose your hosting like an all you can eat buffet.

Determine what your needs are and buy based on that.
If all I need is 50mb and 1gb, I will look for a host who offer this in my price range.
It doesn't make sense to look for a host that offers 10 times this in the same price range because you are increasing you chances of getting a lousy host.

ahchuhosting 08-17-2004 04:43 PM

that makes sense about the buffet example, lots of food lower quality though. Yea you would be better going and buying a plan that gives you a set amount. Quite often warez networks try to operate on the unlimited hosts and the hosts tend to oversell per server to try and make a profit.

ldcdc 08-17-2004 06:05 PM

I'm sorry to hear you experienced such problems with espinda. Too bad you had to learn that "unlimited" is not good the hard way...

BTW, what website do you have with them?

Deltaservers 08-25-2004 02:34 AM

Quote:

I thought the idea of unlimited bandwidth and webspace sounded great but when I signed up for Espinda.com, I realize I made a mistake. I cannot upload files a lot of the time and the server times out all the time. The customer service is not helpful and they will blame the customer for problems that occur. Very unprofessional and it's very deceptive. In addition, the web server runs very slow. The email forwarding does not work which made my website loose some business.

Everyone, please also list other deceptive or poorly managed hosting companies for the rest of us.

Thanks! My email is cashzzz@hotmail.com for people who wish to respond to me.
I Suggest not only other peoples but also my clients, to Check Twice before you Buy, Since this is Internet....You cannot ask / Q? people as in Live....that is the Major Disadvantage...

I am Sorry for what has happened to you.....I Suggest next time you take Decesion...Please Enquire about all Services Offered by the Company in this Forum (or) by Contacting the Respective techs.

by the way the company espindia.com seems to NOT Work from my Place....

And I also wanted to tell you, next time don't go for Unlimited Space and Transfer.....When it comes to Bandwidth and also Space....there is NO Question of "UNLIMITED".....Be Careful of companies offering Unlimited Space and Bandwidth (they always Keep Hidden Charges)!!! :shh:

Good Luck

luanmikevu 09-08-2004 10:22 AM

Decent bandwidth with Globat
 
Hi,

Sorry to see you got burned. I use Globat's basic Gigabyte package and had plenty of upload/download bandwidth (except for occasions when the slammer worm or other virus hogged the entire internet bandwith or took down the DNS servers of the internet backbone).

It's been three years since I've been with them. If you'd like to try, I can create guest accounts on my "inactive" website for you to test FTP transfer speed and on my "active" website if you want to see transfer speed via their online web-status page.

Luan Vu (Michael)
http://www.t3n4c10u5.com ("active")
ftp://stmaarten.globat.com ("inactive, except for FTP transfers")
mailto:luanmikevu@gmail.com

Blue 09-08-2004 01:12 PM

Domain Name: T3N4C10U5.COM
Registrar: ENOM, INC.
Whois Server: whois.enom.com
Referral URL: http://www.enom.com
Name Server: NS1.DNSJUNCTION.COM
Name Server: NS2.DNSJUNCTION.COM
Status: REGISTRAR-LOCK
Updated Date: 12-aug-2004
Creation Date: 12-aug-2004
Expiration Date: 12-aug-2006




What site have you had with them for 3 years?

luanmikevu 09-08-2004 01:59 PM

since you asked.
 
the hosting company is
www.globat.com

Their Gigabyte package is a starter package with the best value for the features. Please note that they do not give telnet or ssh access.

Blue 09-08-2004 02:04 PM

Let me rephrase.


What site have you had with Globat for 3 years?

Artashes 09-08-2004 02:05 PM

luanmikevu, the question is about YOUR SITE. You said you've been with Globat for 3 years. What site have you been hosting with them for 3 years?

country-tyme 09-16-2004 06:28 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Simon
"Unlimited disk space" and "unlimited transfer" always sounds good when you're a little green in the hosting sector.

Neither of the two are possible, and the end result is always messy; dead servers.

My advice would be to look for a hosting company that doesn't focus merely on massive quotas, and dirt cheap prices.

When you find a hosting company that you like the look of, do a search for them - on here, on google, on webhostingtalk, and as many places as you can think of.

Research = peace of mind. Peace of mind = happy customer.

Simon

Well put! I sometimes think that because we do not offer really large amounts of bandwidth, it is a drawback, but my clients are happy when they realize that they don't need those really large amounts.

Unlimited usually means overselling and downtime.

nocturnalhostin 09-16-2004 01:22 PM

Well, unlimited bandwidth can also mean unlimited bandwidth on a t1 line - unlimited is always upto capacity, which is something that most customers don't understand (and why so many people unfortunatly fall victim to such advertising gimics).

ChopperJohn 09-24-2004 04:24 AM

espinda.net
 
I have fallen for the same sham host Espinda.net with their promise of low/low proces but now I find I cannot access my page using any of my local ISP's...

How difficult will it be to change to a new host ?

I don't want to loose my registered domain ! What can I do ?

Artashes 09-24-2004 09:51 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ChopperJohn
How difficult will it be to change to a new host ?
I don't want to loose my registered domain ! What can I do ?

John, that would depend whether you registered your domain with Espinda or a separate domain entity.

Best,


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:11 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.1.0