Hosting Discussion

Hosting Discussion (https://www.hostingdiscussion.com/)
-   Web Hosting Reviews (https://www.hostingdiscussion.com/web-hosting-reviews/)
-   -   Webhostingtalk (https://www.hostingdiscussion.com/web-hosting-reviews/38606-webhostingtalk.html)


martfox 12-22-2014 05:18 PM

Webhostingtalk
 
Avoid them!!!

Alex - A2 Hosting 12-23-2014 01:33 PM

What issues are you having with them :)?

RH-Calvin 12-24-2014 12:13 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by martfox (Post 182710)
Avoid them!!!

It will be helpful if you can elaborate your experience with them. We really do like to know the reason stated here.

Rado_Ch 12-24-2014 04:05 AM

Short, vague, with as little details as possible...you will make a great politician, man :rolleyes2

Mia_ 12-24-2014 01:58 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by martfox (Post 182710)
Avoid them!!!

As in the Web Hosting Talk forums?

Alex - A2 Hosting 12-24-2014 05:53 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mia_ (Post 182737)
As in the Web Hosting Talk forums?

Yes, WHT forums.

Mia_ 12-24-2014 06:28 PM

Can you be more specific as to the "avoid them" comment? Avoid what?

martfox 12-25-2014 03:47 AM

Simply avoid them to make some decisions about "good" and "bad" hosting companies... E.g. if you write a bad rewiev of "someone" there, they will simply delete your post or the whole thread... then at the end, you are the bad person because your server e.g. was down for 2 days, or it's your fault, that nobody answered your support tickets since xx hours... (this post is related to some hosting company)...

[HRD]-Gareth 12-25-2014 04:51 AM

They don't normally delete posts.

They do ask you though to submit proof that you are/where a customer, so that they can ensure that it is a legit review (as in you are actually a customer of theirs).

Personally, I do not see anything wrong in this approach, it weeds out shills, or people posting bad things about one of their competitors. Like anything though, it is not going to be perfect, they will make mistakes.

Rado_Ch 12-25-2014 04:13 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by martfox (Post 182744)
Simply avoid them to make some decisions about "good" and "bad" hosting companies... E.g. if you write a bad rewiev of "someone" there, they will simply delete your post or the whole thread... then at the end, you are the bad person because your server e.g. was down for 2 days, or it's your fault, that nobody answered your support tickets since xx hours... (this post is related to some hosting company)...


Moderation is something that every such forum needs, otherwise nothing will stop pissed off clients bashing hosts left and right. Also consider this - there isn't another forum with so many people who have knowledge from this particular niche and those are people who can easily read such a thread and determine who has more rights in the case - host or clients.

As someone visiting the forums almost on a daily basis I can tell you that daily there quite a few negative posts about certain companies. Sometimes its really a horrible service from a host, sometimes its a person that got pissed for all the wrong reasons. At the end of the day anyone can express an opinion but they have to be prepared to accept the opinions of others too - this is the magic of the public forum :rolleyes2

wh-coach 12-26-2014 11:45 AM

I don't think you need to avoid them - just accept that you are being socially engineered. it isn't different for any forum - hostingdiscussion is the same. Why do I reply to threads on any forum? Because my sig gets viewed and maybe somebody comes by the my website and signs up. Assume that's why you're seeing every response to every thread and govern your reaction accordingly and suddenly things have a whole new light.

Am I being cynical or jaded? I prefer to consider myself seasoned.

I've been on WHT since I think 2001 or 2002... I don't recall. All the moderation things they do are in place for a reason. Many of the reasons have been forgotten but it's the way things are now. They're running a forum with who knows how many active members and the rules are in place to stop things from being the wild west show. It used to be pretty wild.

They aren't out to 'get' anyone and they don't owe you anything. If you like their service, part of the price of admission is working with their rules. if you don't like the rules or the community or whatever, as you said in your first post, avoid them. Not much more to be said about the topic.

dwhs 12-26-2014 10:28 PM

Yeah, the whole thing is fake. Welcome to the matrix.

It amazing em how Google rewards such corrupt websites.

easyhostmedia 12-27-2014 03:09 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by martfox (Post 182744)
Simply avoid them to make some decisions about "good" and "bad" hosting companies... E.g. if you write a bad rewiev of "someone" there, they will simply delete your post or the whole thread... then at the end, you are the bad person because your server e.g. was down for 2 days, or it's your fault, that nobody answered your support tickets since xx hours... (this post is related to some hosting company)...

On WHT did you use the report button and provide the details of which site you hosted with the host you were leaving a review of, if you did not do this then they will delete posts as they have no idea if the review was genuine as you could just be a competitor bad mouthing the competition

Mia_ 12-29-2014 10:54 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by martfox (Post 182744)
Simply avoid them to make some decisions about "good" and "bad" hosting companies... E.g. if you write a bad rewiev of "someone" there, they will simply delete your post or the whole thread... then at the end, you are the bad person because your server e.g. was down for 2 days, or it's your fault, that nobody answered your support tickets since xx hours... (this post is related to some hosting company)...

That is unusual. I rarely if ever see then delete posts, though a great many that you just described certainly should be.

I will agree that there are issues at WHT and things that can be quite irritating, but that is the same of just about every forum.

The moderation is lacking when it comes to the types of posts that are allowed at WHT. Some of the biggest offenders are those that post their support questions on WHT when they should be asking their provider for help. Then you have the people that have really unrealistic requests for service and want $4000 servers for $30/mo. And finally the ones that come to WHT to bitch that it took more than 5 seconds to get their order processed and were completely offended that the reason their order was held up was because they used someone else's credentials and a stolen credit card.

99.9% of the post at WHT are crap, I'll give you that. But I have rarely if ever seen them delete any of these crap posts. If they are now, its a great step in the right direction.

Rado_Ch 01-02-2015 08:45 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mia_ (Post 182779)
That is unusual. I rarely if ever see then delete posts, though a great many that you just described certainly should be.

I will agree that there are issues at WHT and things that can be quite irritating, but that is the same of just about every forum.

The moderation is lacking when it comes to the types of posts that are allowed at WHT. Some of the biggest offenders are those that post their support questions on WHT when they should be asking their provider for help. Then you have the people that have really unrealistic requests for service and want $4000 servers for $30/mo. And finally the ones that come to WHT to bitch that it took more than 5 seconds to get their order processed and were completely offended that the reason their order was held up was because they used someone else's credentials and a stolen credit card.

99.9% of the post at WHT are crap, I'll give you that. But I have rarely if ever seen them delete any of these crap posts. If they are now, its a great step in the right direction.

I see your point but I think its a little misconstrued. The concept of a "crap post" is a little different for you and for me. WHT may be a hosting forum but above all its a great learning place. All those cases you mentioned might seem very silly for you and me but they are hella serious for the person who posts them.

Many people seeking help also contacted their providers first but found no answer or got a ridiculous answer from the host. The ones with unrealistic requests have such just because they are novice users and don't know better. If you encounter hosting for the first time and see a ludicrous offer like HG's $1 dollar all unlimited hosting and see some review sites that HG are the best what will you logically think? If I can take so much for so little money, a great big server shouldn't cost much more... As for fraudsters, spending many many years in the business I've noticed that most of them prefer to stay hidden as possible. Stealing someone's CC credentials and going on a huge public forum to moan about a delayed order is something that happens really rarely. Its much easier for them to just move to the next company and try there (Hell, they will find a place where it works). At the end of the day most hosts use WHT for the ads and exposure while clients use it to get some help and as more experienced users we shouldn't deny them such just because their question is rather silly. This is what the hosting customer service mostly does after all.

Now spammers and copied one-line responses with no usefulness or affiliation to the question is a whole other story. Those should be banished from any forum's land and I do think that WHT is doing very good in this aspect (mostly compared to around 10 more forums I frequently visit). :rolleyes2


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:56 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.1.0