Credibility in host reviews?

craigjb

First, I'm a relative novice as a web designer. I have completed a few paid projects, but I am now in the midst of my first foray into ecomerce site design. I have done and am continuing some extensive self education and have found the predictable stumbling block encountered in almost all internet serachers. 1) There is allot of information out there. 2) Some of it is actually credible.

Any search gives me many, many web host review sites. Being skeptical by nature I avoid many dubious looking sites and am unsure of others. I'm increasingly confounded by reviews, whether by panels or individuals, that vary wilidly from one to the next.

I've assembled the following critera thus far in my evalations of web hosting review sites. I imagine the list will continue to grow. I would greatly appreciate any additions or comments.

1) All review sites should explicitly state that they do not accept advertisements from reviewed hosts. (I've actually seen numeous sites which are flagrantly hypocritical on this claim).
2) Review sites should have more than just a top 5 or 10 listing. There should be evidence that they actually evaluated many sites, not just the most popular.
3) All reviews should be clearly dated.
4) Reviews from customers should be taken in the context of other customer reviews. In short, one unsatisfied or gushing customer just does not cut it. Especially when comments are heavily one sided or poorly worded.
5) Reviews should be wholistic. A so called excellent host that has poor customer service is NOT an excellent host! I have encountered many many reviews that are heavily one sided, I find it hard to believe that even the best hosts have no drawbacks.
6) Ratings compiled from a clearly delineated panel with explicit critera are most useful.

Any additions from the more experienced pros out there?
Any one have positive experinces with reviewers who meet these criteria?

Thanks!