How Much Power Do I Need For Home Server

Tera

How much Power Do I need to have a home server? Can I use an older PC to host a website instead of paying Godaddy to do it? What kind of power do I need and how do I get it set up for a fast connection? Sorry, I'm new to this and am trying to learn a few things. Always trying to save the almighty dollar if possible.:crash:

Always trying to save the almighty dollar if possible.
Then consider your energy costs. You're likely to find that paying for a shared hosting account is cheaper, and that's even without factoring in your time. The connection speed difference (you won't have the bandwidth that a server in a datacenter usually has) means you's be getting better hosting too.

Based on what I've read, there are better hosting options than Godaddy though.

Just my 2 cents.

Depending on the draw on the machin typically anything between 0.2 amps to 1.5amps with an average of around 0.5 amps.

You will also need a data pipe to your home if you ware to get any good speed out of the connection. 8MBPS broadband should be fine if its not a high traffic site but many ADSL providers will not allow you to use the connection for hosting.

I can however guarantee you that in the long term hosting with a web host will be cheaper than doing it yourself.

PS: Does it have to be godaddy - you could do so much better.

The Bulk end of the stick!

Hey, thanks for the info. I always thought doing it at home is cheaper! I guess home hosting is relative to sayiing it's cheaper to eat out than at home if there are only one or two people dining...

Outide hosting can be cheaper on account of bulk makes sense! Thaniks for the notes though :)
Tera

With your home pc, its going to be the equivalent of running it day in and day out. Having someone host for you is nice, because they handle the internet connect (good bandwitdh), and you dont have to worry about your monthly power bill.