Mascot?

OwlMan

Have any of you found any significant positive results from investing in getting a mascot designed to represent your company or designed a good one yourself? Also, if you've gotten one designed, what's a fair price to pay?

I have not had a mascot designed and the reason why is, I think they are silly. Let's say I am a business owner and I come to your website. You have a mascot of goofy. What conclusion do I come up with? If i didn't know Host Gator was huge and people behind the scenes. I would come to their site, see the big gator and leave.

Their are a few that come to mind .. HostGator, FatCow and SingleHop. Of those I think SingleHop did a great job at marketing their mascot, and integrating it so it flows with their site. Most prospects searching for information on web hosting are not developers. They're small mom and pop businesses or aspiring entrepreneurs. I'm particularly impressed with SingleHop's site. You can tell a lot of work went into designing that site - to convert prospects into clients.

What I like on singlehop is that they don't have their frog on the main page of their site, it's only on some of their internal pages (at least that's how it was).

I think for many, it's hard enough being a small shop and trying to do namebranding on the logo and colors etc. Bringing in ANOTHER branding item that you have to dump more money into is usually not something that small shops do.

Do mascots help? I'm sure they do for larger companies or they wouldn't have them :)

We just had someone that we wanted to test out for an add to our designers team (we have about a dozen that we always keep on hand, but we like to add when we come across a good one). He redid one of our sites and I loved it all, but the logo/mascot he came up with, and its not his fault, but I am really thinking of ditching it and either going without one, or finding something that fits.