Newbie Question

DJInBoise

I'm a newbie and am impressed by this forum. It's nice to have a support group mixed with newbies and those already in the business. I do web design and then referred my clients to another hosting company. No more. What I'm curious about though is the potential. Is it possible to make a decent living reselling hosting? Is the market too saturated already? Thanks for your feedback in advance!

No. The market is not too saturated.
When I say that I mean it's not saturated with hosts who do their job and provide an adequate service.

There are thousands of let's say "wanna be" hosts out there who seem to be saturating the market but they fall by the wayside very quickly and the clients they draw eventually will be in the market for stable hosting.

If you choose to be a reseller and host the sites you develop I would say it would be a viable business move.

The key though is to choose your host wisely. The better the host you choose the less work will be required on your part.

If you are doing work for clients needing hosting, its a great way to get some customers when you are just starting out. market saturation does not matter to you in this case.

get yourself a nice reseller package on a good server and rake in the extra money every month.

Like people have said before me you need to find a good reseller. Base your web host on your needs like end user support, disk space, features etc. I would also test there support system too. Best of luck. Sent from tmobile g1

Thanks everyone. I appreciate the feedback and hope to contribute more to the forum as I learn and hopefully become a hosting expert. I did some research and so far I'm happy with the company I picked. I usually get same day replies and get chat support in less than a few minutes.

If you choose to be a reseller and host the sites you develop I would say it would be a viable business move.