Noob alert. Advice needed.

realmanproject

Hi people.

I have very little experience in hosting (actually none!) but I am hoping to set up a web site. It is quite a complex project, but I don't have the budget to hire someone to deal with it specifically. Therefore I am trying to get as much information as possible before I proceed!

The web site that I have in mind is a cross between facebook and foursquare, but for dancers. If it goes well I anticipate having a significant number of visitors, and fairly high bandwidth and storage needs. I will also have an app on facebook that links to my site, so I will need an SSL. Uptime will be very important, and preferably the subscription should be scalable, so I can upgrade as needed.

Firstly, is there anything extra that I should be looking for, or looking out for when selecting a host for my site?

Secondly, what kind of price range should I be budgeting for, in order to get a quality service that meets my requirements?

And thirdly, do any of you have recommendations for a UK based hosting service, with good customer support, that can service my needs.

Thanks

Trev

PS. If this is posted in the wrong section then I apologise. Mods please feel free to move it to the correct section.

Hosting and setting up a website (end user) are 2 different concepts.

but running a website as an end user do you want to run the site in

1) cPanel
2) Direct Admin
3) Plesk
4) Kloxo

cPanel is most common and the easiest to use. If you have no experience in this then i suggest before setting up your site is get a cheap shared account or a free host account, just to play around with the contriol panel to get used to it, but for high b/w and storage i would look at a managed VPS.

finding a host is just do research

1) check forums
2) check reviews
3) ask some questions at specific hosts and see how long they take to reply and what their answers are

but STAY AWAY from those offering unlimited space/bandwidth as these dont exsist