Server Hardware Specs.

Cultural-Virus

I've been browsing this forum for awhile (16 hours total, in two days) and being this is my first post, I don't want to get flamed to death for the question I'm about to post.

Okay *puts on flame resistant gear* I would like to host a server from home....

And I currently have a setup, I think would be good for web hosting, but I would like your (somewhat honest) opinion of my setup.

Here it goes:

CPU: Intel® Core™ i5-750 Processor
RAM: 4G
HDD: 1 TB (soon to have 4TB)
Network card: 1 GB
:crash:
That should be about all the (important) hardware for my server.
Oh, also, it runs on Windows Server 2008, if that means anything.

Now, I am very new to the web hosting scene (well a bystander to it) and from what people have been saying, VPS is where it is at for a beginner web hoster, and I agree. ( I move alot)

Any way, Thank you.

Is this for hosting personal stuff? or will you actually be advertising and selling hosting services?

If you are doing this as a business, you have many things to consider, and you will easily realise it's better to colocate your gear or rent a dedicated server than host from home as the costs will be high.

What connection speed/type do you have at home?
What happens if your 1TB drive fails (Backups)
What if there is no power? (UPS/Generator)
Are you in a hot climate? (A/C running 24/7 in the summer).

When you add all of these factors up, they will cost much more than just colocating the server somewhere else. That is presuming you will even do all of the above.

If you choose to just host the server on a cable/dsl connection then don't even think about selling VPS's. You may get by with some static sites and small images... but even then, is it worth the hassle?

JMO

If it's for personal reasons, and no one is paying for the service then it's a completely different story and you will learn much more with less costs doing it from home.