1&1 Web hosting

I have for about 2 years, with their cheapest shared hosting package. It was surprisingly stable and fast compared to most of their direct competitors that I've tried. They probably some cache system in place, which would explain the server speed.

One major downside (or maybe upside from a small site owner's perspective) is that they have a strict limit on database size (100 or 200MB from what I recall), and that, because they're totally procedures run, if you fall through the cracks, you might as well talk to a wall. :)

Are you going to try out? This company is managing a huge business but I have no personal experience with them. Sometimes I would prefer to some small company for better support.

Hi,

I know someone who uses them. I think they're OK if you just want run of the mill hosting.

Anything out of the ordinary on their shared hosting and your SOL, as they say ;)

HTH,

Nick.

I have a domain purchased with 1&1 they took 24 hours to activate my domain and they actually never ever answered my support ticket when i asked why it was taking so long.

I agree with Umbee about the supermarket web hosts. They have gotten so big, that customer service is just a process and no personal anymore. I want my customer to succeed, these big guys don't care, lose one get 10 more fools who run to the most established name in the business, or who can afford to stay at the top of Google search results.

Based off web hosting geeks review they're terrible. Below is the link of the reviews.

http://webhostinggeeks.com/user-reviews/index2.php?item_id=6

Thanks,
I'm curious about this on one the reviews on web hosting geeks site, specifically about the credit card verification fee.
1&1 Charged my credit card for ........ Nothing!