Advice for small-time developer moving into small-time reselling

guiriverde

Hi everyone. I am a small time web developer. Now that I have a few clients, I was wondering about becoming a small time reseller too. Rather than trying to be a reselling mogul (at least for now) I thought I can offer a more personal and complete service to clients I work with.

I can understand the benefits of your development business NOT being linked with any hosting problems, but for now many customers are close enough friends that I wouldn't suddenly lose customers & reputation.

However, I realised that the costs of hosting 1 or 2 sites of my own .. and a few customers sites could be reduced greatly by using a small reselling ooption. And I have the freedom to start some experimental sites of my own.

So, finally to my question:

I have the feeling that any small company offering small reselling options are themselves resellers, probably buying from other resellers .... and so on. Hence all the awful reviews I hear.

Is getting one of these accounts worth my while? Will I just regret the hassle of moving all these sites when problems appear and my support requests get lost as they are passed up a chian?

How is it ever possible to choose one when every review site seems to have fake positive (and quite possibly fake negative) reeviews.

Thank you all for you time,
Doug

Will you be charging your current clients to host their website with you? If I were in their position, I wouldn't be buying my hosting from my site developer in case something went wrong. Nothing against you as a person, but you do have to have a bit of caution in business.

I'll back up snorkel on that many people who get designs done won't necessarily want to have the same person doing the hosting - but maybe a working relationship.