Broken Wrist!

AbbieRose

I have unfortunately managed to break my wrist and am stuck-slowly-typing with only my non-dominant hand. I need to type to work! Can anyone recommend any voice recognition software that actually works, and is free or cheap?

Ouch, sorry that had to happen to you Abbie! I wish I knew of some programs that could help you. I hope that heals fast and you can get back to typing! :)

As it happens that I know of Dragon Natural speaking, got given it for a free back in the day when I studied as part of having dyslexia back then being version 4/5. Something and it was brilliant though hiccupped with accents a little that said this was 10 years ago though they are still proclaimed as the best though they aren't cheap :( though it is intened to replace the keyboard entirely.

Hopefully you get better soon and wish you all the best with your recovery!

Their site: http://www.nuance.co.uk/naturallyspeaking/

Last edited:
Sorry to hear of your injury, yikes!

I tried voice recog on the Mac, and it's a lot of work to get it even sorta working. I think Dragon is better, but not dramatically better. Voice recog is not like regular software, you have to train it to your voice.

Not sure what to suggest. Might be a good time to take some time off, and do some serious reading on some subject you've been meaning to learn. You might come out of it with a whole new skill?

Sorry to hear about your wrist break. I hope you recover soon.

What version of Windows do you use, if you use windows.

Windows Vista and Windows 7 come with voice recognition built in. It's just not well publicized. It's as good as Dragon VR.

-> Click the Start button

->Click Control Panel

-> Click Ease of Access

-> Click Speech Recognition

->Click Take Speech Tutorial

Nice discovery on that Windows Speach - never tried it. Will have to plug in a mic and check it out.