dedicated or reseller?

jonesie

I am a startup web host/website developer. Can anyone point me in the direction of a service that will meet my following needs?

1. Required: I need direct access to my clients' website directory folders. I have created an online web site builder for a niche market. It uses ASP to create html pages and saves them in the users' directories.

2. May also need to install other components that hosting companies might not offer by default such as ASPImage.

2. I don't feel 100% confident in managing my own server (Security, email, updates...). Would need some help in that area, but would like to eventually take it over myself when the time is right.

3. Would really like to automate as much as possible. Domain purchase, hosting account setup, billing.

4. My clients will interface with my application, so they will not really need a cPanel to FTP files or manage their accounts (except for email).

The reseller option is atractive to me because I wouldn't have to worry about the technical side of hosting at first. But I may have to actually have my own server if I want to have direct file access to my clients directories.

Thanks for whatever advice you can offer!

depends how much resources you plan on using really. A lot of hosts will install modules for you upon request. and that seems like the only thing to make you need a dedicated server. the rest you could do with a reseller account unless you needed a lot of resources.

jonesie said:
I am a startup web host/website developer. Can anyone point me in the direction of a service that will meet my following needs?

1. Required: I need direct access to my clients' website directory folders. I have created an online web site builder for a niche market. It uses ASP to create html pages and saves them in the users' directories.

2. May also need to install other components that hosting companies might not offer by default such as ASPImage.