Graphic Designers

jlynch

Where do you go to find your graphic designers? I'm looking for one, but don't know where to begin when it comes to credentials and those sorts of details. Do you mostly just look at their work and make a determination from that?

I found a good graphic designer on Elance.

Most designers have their portfolios on there and you can look at them. You can chat with potential designers you may want to work with to get a feel if they are right for your job.

For me, if someone can do the end work and produce results, I don't need a piece of paper to say they're qualified to do that.

Learning in a classroom or from a book, is must different from hands-on real world experience.

I'll take real world over a piece of paper any day!

With most designers I think their work can speak for itself. If they have a degree that's wonderful but with design alot of people are self taught. I actually have a degree in Graphic Design and alot of what I know came from the class room and book but then a great part of my knowledge was self taught and learning by trial and error.

ELance is a great place to find professionals but can be a bit pricey. Best of luck on your web designer hunt.

For me, if someone can do the end work and produce results, I don't need a piece of paper to say they're qualified to do that.

Learning in a classroom or from a book, is must different from hands-on real world experience.

I'll take real world over a piece of paper any day!

With that I would agree completely. I remember how my career as a designer started. I opened new document in CoreDRAW and started slowly but surely. No books, no paper...

Where do you go to find your graphic designers? I'm looking for one, but don't know where to begin when it comes to credentials and those sorts of details. Do you mostly just look at their work and make a determination from that?