Hosting 2 domains on one package.

eBandit

I'm new to all this and don't know all the terminology yet, so bear with me.

I would like to know what to look for in a hosting package that would be able to host at least two domains on the same account without buying a separate hosting package for the 2nd domain.

One I looked at http://www.linksky.com/plans.html would allow that but with a re-direct and I was told the re-direct on the 2nd domain would hurt search engine rankings and make the site harder to find (not sure it hurts one site or both). For that reason I don't want my second domain to be re-directed to MyFirstDomain.com/MySecondDomain.

Hosting plans that says host X amount of domains etc., would those work and actually host each domain on its own web site without any re-directs like that? If so what terminology do I look for or ask for when looking for a package, so I know I am getting the right thing?

I don't need anything major as of yet, so I am looking for something cheap and that I can either pay month-to-month or no more than 3 months at a time payments and no set-up fees unless very cheap.

Thanks

I was told that with a single hosting package there will be only be one IP and the only was to have two seperate websites with out any re-directs or sub-folder on the 2nd website would be having two seperate hosting packages or a dedicated server.

Any suggestions anyone?

You are looking too deep into this issue. It is possible to host more than 1 domain on a shared account. Sure, there could be a single IP address, but it won't impact your search engine ranking in any way. Its just that - an IP address. If a host says you can host an X amount of domains on a plan, that means both of your sites URLs are unique, they both will have their own username and password, and they won't be in each other's sub-folders.