Hosting gallery site - requires alot of bandwidth

silvers_

Hi everyone at HostingDiscussion! Hope all is good~

I seek your guidance and experience in regards to a hosting plan. I will be running a adult gallery site soon. I am completely new to this. I’ve did a lot of reading and there are dedicated servers, shared dedicated servers, unmetered vs unlimited bandwidth, etc— all in which put me in a state of being unsure.

I would like a host that will allow adult content, not charging me for over-usage of bandwidth, fair pricing, and easy upgradable options. My site will host images that are 500kb each, requires alot of bandwidth, and I am expecting each visitor to use an average of 15mb.

500 visitor a day = 450 GB per month (First 6 months)
5000 visitor a day = 2250 GB per month (Month 6-12)
10,000 visitor per day = 4,500 GB per month (1 year+)

Which hosting plan should I choose, type of server option (dedicated, shared, etc), and as my site grow...how should I proceed in upgrading my options?

Thank you so much in advance. -Silvers

Your spread is relatively large. 500 visitors per day to 10,000 visitors per day - it makes a difference.

500 visitors per day and estimated 450 GB per month in bandwidth can be easily handled by a VPS.

5,000 visitors per day and over - you'll need a dedicated server for.

Specifications-wise, I don't think you need anything extreme. I would suggest to go with a company that will allow you to grow and upgrade to a dedicated server as your requirements change. A company that offers both VPS and dedicated servers.

Start with a VPS. Nothing extreme. Linux OS, 512 MB-1 GB of RAM, basic setup, should carry you through some months.

Once you are hitting 1200-1500 GB in monthly traffic, I would upgrade to a dedicated server with at least 2 GB of RAM and enough traffic to keep you secure.