Is it easy?

sherwood

OK, I know a bit about HTML, CSS and PHP, but I am not at all a web designer or developer. I am just an amateur "template tweaker". I wonder how long it takes to create a template from scratch, assuming that you know what you are doing.

If the creative juices are flowing, an experienced web designer can create a good template in ~8-24 hours of work. That is total hours worked. Not start to finish.

Love the link ;)

If it takes a man an hour to dig a hole, how long will it take two men to dig half a hole?

How long it will take to design a template depends entirely on how skilled you are, and where you draw the line as being "complete". Talk to any painter, most of their artwork is not "finished", there's always something that can be added, removed or changed.

I usually start with a prebuilt template these days as you can pick up one relatively cheap (and dirt cheap in some cases). Then build and "kit-bash" and modify to your hearts content. When I design cookie cutter web sites for people, I can be done with a 5 page site in less than 3 hours when they provide the text and images they want online, up to 5 hours if they only provide a logo and text, and it could be DAYS if they only provide a logo with nothing else.

My other half is a senior php developer, and proper geek. Last weekend he set out to make some templates (for fun, ha!) and was done with the first in about four hours. It was a simple one, but he was pleased with it. Really and truly it just depends on your skill level.

Loving, the link.

But really, there is a fine balance, you can over design it from spending to much time on it, and you can under design it from spending to little time on it.

So you have got to find "your" right balance on it.

As people before me have already posted, it all depends on the skill of the person who is doing it. It also depends on what functionality you require and how well you want to achieve it.