Keeping a Customers Information

dramaqueen

Just curious, how long should I keep a customer's information after they cancel an account with me?
I'm just starting out so I haven't even got my first customer, but I know this will be something I need to know for the future.

Most larger companies I know will keep the information indefinitely. Even if the data base they are using gets cleaned out they archive the old stuff. I would do the same if I were you. Doesn't mean you have to have it easily accessible when it gets old.

I'd agree with keeping the information indefinitely, however, as a second option, I'd keep it as long as it's necessary for your taxing authority. US IRS requirements, if memory serves, would be 5 years at a minimum. You'd need to verify that though.

Thanks for the advice and it makes sense. It seems like it can't hurt to keep it indefinitely and I hadn't even yet thought through the IRS requirements. I'll have to check into that a little more.

Forever, since you never know. But this also depend of the legislation from your country. I delete the old data after couple of months max 1 year.

Since it likely doesn't take up much room in your database, I'd suggest keeping all past customer's information. You never know when the customer may decide to return someday.... and it may help if you've kept a record of them.

They barely use any database, after their accounts are removed, they have an "Inactive" status and remain there.

WHMCS, for as long as possible. If needed, backup and keep. Its best to keep your records for as long as you can or as long as its required.

You never know when you might need it someday. Like brianf said. IRS req.... etc...

Just keep it indefinitely incase you ever have to file taxes. It would also prove to be more convenient if the same client ever came back so they could just reuse their old billing account to sign up again.