My Host List and Ratings

dvduval

I've been hosting many sites for myself or my customers since about 1999. Here is a list of the ones I have used with a rating next to them. I am not taking the time to write a detailed review of each right now, but here they are:
WestHost (7/10) - good support, and good prices. Proprietary control panel.
Site5 (9/10) - good prices, awesome hardware and performance, decent customer service, and some cutting edge offerings (Ruby, Flashback).
HostGator (9/10) - good prices, awesome hardware, very good to excellent customer service
Page-Zone.com (5/10) - fairly dependable in terms of uptime, but customer service lacking
Polurnet (no rating) - I just started with them, but about 7/10 so far.
Pair (7/10) - great hardware, proprietary control panel, good to very good customer service. Been around for a long time
Hostway (5/10) - pricing not all that exciting. Proprietary control panel. Good customer service.
Hostdime (7/10) - great deals on fully managed dedicated servers. Decent hardware but could be better. Good to very good customer service.
Dreamhost (7/10) - good prices, good hardware. Proprietary control panel a little hard to get used to.

I hope this helps someone.

Last edited:
Some nice extensive information - could you clarify how you rated hardware though? Is this a reference to system performance?

Thanks for the ratings, dvduval. I'm curious though. With site5 having a 9/10 rating, why would you have decided recently to leave them for Polurnet? It would certainly take a lot to get me to move away from a 9/10 host.

Vito

vito said:
Thanks for the ratings, dvduval. I'm curious though. With site5 having a 9/10 rating, why would you have decided recently to leave them for Polurnet? It would certainly take a lot to get me to move away from a 9/10 host.

Vito

I did not leave them for Polurnet. I have about 150 domains hosted across several different hosts.