NCServ - There's No Comparison

Mike D

I've been a successful web developer for more than 10 years, and I have never, EVER dealt with such a bass-ackwards operation as NCServ.

Although the company advertizes cPanel/WHM hosting, recently their owner, Kris Keele, decided to migrate to DirectAdmin instead. Hey, it's his company after all, right?

Unfortunately, after the server change I noticed that the sites I had hosted at NCServ were all offline. So I opened a support ticket.

Big mistake.

Here's one of the helpful responses I got: "With over 1500 customers moved in the last month we have had about 20 that claim to have never received information, didn't understand or just didn't do as instructed and asked. Those are the only ones that have had issues also. If you did not receive something then you need to make sure our domains are whitelisted in your mail servers as all Resellers received private instructions... Your site appears to be resolving properly."

Where did that come from?

I replied that I never received the "private instructions," and that the email they sent contained only generic information, not specific to my server or domains. Still their tech support team waws stuck on, We sent you the instructions, but you must have been too lazy or stupid to follow them.

Okay.

Finally, after 4 messages and 24 hours, I got the new IP address I needed to use for my custom nameservers. Still no joy. A few hours later one of their tech reps identified a dns entry error on their end that was causing trouble.

Wow. Now that's customer service.

However, when I logged in to the new DirectAdmin panel, there was an immediate problem. Although I was paying for a "one click script installer" and CMS software like Joomla, Mambo, and OSCommerce, the new panel didn't have a script installer, or any links for those programs.