Starting a business

accord2nrz

I apologize up front for those that see this as a newbie question. But I've been toiling over this for several days now and wanted to get some advice from those that have taken this road already. I plan to start a webhosting and gameserver hosting company but not sure if it's the right route for me. I've read alot of the posts here and seen alot of the people talking about moving to dedicated hosting and all that. Here is the thing that's pushing me into this route.

At my job I was actually given 5 Dell Poweredge 2950 servers (2U) loaded with 6 300G HD's each, 3 Cisco 3760 switches, a cisco network inspection tool, and several other goodies to include 500' of Cat 5e, 4 20" monitors, 6 rail assemblies, and 3 server racks.

So as you can see I think God has pretty much put it in my lap, i'm just trying to ensure I get all the necessary equipment to get started. I have a degree in a business and have been actively designing websites for nearly 20 years. In the eyes of some you more experienced folks would you take the plunge with a setup like this?

It depends, what financial backing you have.

I run a decent sized web host, utilizing around 17 servers, I also diversify in other things such as computer repairs and so on.

I really would ask yourself, are you a technical person? Who can manage and setup such hardware and the software part? Can you be around if it breaks, can you replace it and diagnose faults? Can you handle the stress!?

If not, I would go down the renting managed servers route first, or even start on a reseller.
Starting out in this industry is not easy, and takes a long time to get to grips with things, learning your Clients, doing the books everything.

A degree in Business is not much really, in my own view, experience is what counts the most.

It depends on many factors, and financial backing. And what your skills are and how long you can wait to earn a real profit.