Things you need to know prior to starting a web hosting company. Pro's and Con's

Edwart

Before and After
I have been working in the web hosting industry for many years. I have seen a lot of different things. Included in this "lot of different things", i have seen the rise and fall of good and bad web hosts. Sadly, the customers they had felt every bit of the "fall".

What i believe it takes.

I believe it takes more then knowledge and money to start a web hosting company. It takes many different things. Yes, dont get me wrong you need knowledge and money, but what people don't see is what else is behind the scenes. To become a successful web host in my opinion you need:

Knowledge: You need the knowledge and background of how to run a server. Your clients need somebody that they can rely on when something goes wrong. Sometimes when an issue arises it needs to be dealt with immediately. I do understand that some issues take time to resolve because they require troubleshooting. You as the web host must know where to start, what the signs lead to. For example, if none of your customers websites are loading, where do you start? First of all would you ping the ip to see if you get a reply, or would you try to login to your server to see if it is online? Do you simply call your datacenter (which can take longer to get a live person then to fix the issue at hand). These are some of the issues you need the knowledge to fix.