Using Outsourced System Admin?

Lubby

If you are using an outsourced support company to handle your server administration I recommend periodically having a system admin from another company or for that matter an independent one take a look at your servers.

I had outsourced taking care of my servers and recently found out that they were badly misconfigured after a real system admin took a look.

Just thought I'd mention it would be a good idea so people don't someday find out major problems down the road.

In my experience, it all depends on who you outsource with (and your own level of knowledge). Understandably, a total novice to the administration process is probably more suited to getting a second opinion when it comes to the standards of their systems, because business-people are sometimes all too happy to take un-educated clients for a ride.

I would recommend getting other peoples opinions beforehand and asking the support company for information about which other client's systems they administer. There should always be someone you can get a second opinion from...but try and get it before you let the company get their dirty paws on your beloved PC's... :)

~Equinox

If you can afford it - an external auditor of your systems can be a good thing in general. But no matter which way you go - proper research of a business and good screening process to determine their knowledge and expertise is well worth the time and the money.

Christoph

Unless this is assigned to a well proven company, I would never trust my servers to another company. You need to take extra care in this case as it is about YOUR business.

Don't just bump into an offer that just looks amazing. The other thing that's worth mentioning is that in this scenario, the admin company can also find a way to contact and interact with your customers. How can you be certain that they don't also run a web hosting company and try to get business from it?