What e-mail program is everybody using?

GnomeyNewt

I've been using PocoMail for a few years now and its started to do strange things, so I've decided to look around for other options. What e-mail program is everybody using these days?

I've been using Thunderbird for quite a while now (2 years at least). The only issues I've had were Junk mail related (failed to work properly so I had to reset it, and... I don't even recall what was wrong that other time :D).

its started to do strange things
I'm curious, what strange things?

If I let it sitting say over night or just for a few hours sometimes, it will totally hog my ram. Going up to like 500,000k mem usage. It used to just sit there silently telling me I have e-mail, now it takes over my machine. I actually don't have any e-mail program running most of the day. Doesn't work to well for me!

I still use the old standby Outlook Express for most of my mail and also use Thunderbird for certain specific emails.

For Sarah,
I used to use a program called JetMailMonitor for checking email. Really nice small program. A quick google search should bring it up if you're looking for one.

A lot of people have recommenced The Bat. When I tired it about 5 yrs ago I didn't like it that much. Will do a trial again!

GnomeyNewt said:
If I let it sitting say over night or just for a few hours sometimes, it will totally hog my ram. Going up to like 500,000k mem usage. It used to just sit there silently telling me I have e-mail, now it takes over my machine.
Such high memory usage is unusual, most probable reasons are:
a] corrupted New Mail folder. While Pocomail is closed, go to System.pocosys subdirectory and delete all files starting NewMail.pocosys

b] corrupted poco.ini file. Close Pocomail, and rename poco.ini to pocoold.ini. On restart, you might want to re-add the address books.

c] conflict with third party software (usually antivirus, or nVidia's nView)