What is better

Status
Not open for further replies.
Well I have no experience with Windows platform, but I've heard that Unix is more stable.

Windows 2003 Server and *nix are equal in stability but like mentioned before both have their benefits. The new IIS in Windows 2003 is sweet. I use both linux and windows and I like them both. For new customers to web hosting I find out their needs if it's basic I recommend linux to get them off their feet (since cpanel makes it very easy for them) If they have other requirements like Windows Media Servers ASP (or ASP.NET) I recommend Windows. also different databases etc...

Like stated previously it all depends on what the user needs/wants.

This a good thread...
Both has got their own advanages and disadvantages..

But one thing is sure,hosting in windows platform may be costly!!!!

The other important thing to take into consideration is that ...whats your site using...do it user MS Sql or MS Access then,then you have to depend on Windows..

Or if your site choosed MYSql ,PHP ..etc then u can beautfully select LINUX platforms

:mic:

Linux is very cheap compared to Windows. Microsoft allows a single copy of Windows to be used on only one computer. You can buy a Linux book and get the operating system included with the book for free. You can also download Linux for free from each of the Linux vendors (assuming your Internet connection is fast enough for a 600 MB file and you have a CD burner) or from www.linuxiso.org.Both these options however, come without technical support.
After the initial cost (or lack thereof) of obtaining software, there is the ongoing cost of its care and feeding.
I don't know if there will ever be an objective measure of the ongoing care and feeding costs for Linux vs. Windows. If there were however, it would have to consider:

Dealing with bugs in the operating system
Dealing with bugs in application software
Dealing with viruses, worms, Spyware, etc. (big advantage to Linux here)