What's the trick?

jlynch

What's the best trick to growing the business through marketing? I'm just learning about how people can pay for different sorts of marketing/PR and it blows my mind. I don't know where to begin.

I don't know that there are any tricks. Certainly the best way to grow a start up business is via networking - working with others to promote your services. Forum posting can be huge, over time. Don't overlook your local market - Chambers of Commerce or other associations.

Sound advice from Steve! I'd pay less attention to Press Releases and things of that nature and focus on FACE TO FACE time with people in order to initially grow. Much of your growth would normally be in local markets where you can get a feel from the customer and be able to answer questions instantly (if you have the knowledge). You ARE the face of your company.

Forums, posts, articles, search engines, blogs and all things related should be secondary and treated as an addition to your marketing efforts rather than primary (generally). There are exceptions to every rule, but when launching any businesses, that's the general flow of things.

People have to know you exist before you can grow. It's why you see the "Under New Management" or "Grand Opening" banners on restaurants. It's a CHEAP way to get the word out, but effective. Become a walking billboard. Get some T-Shirts made with "ask me about web hosting" or whatever businesses - you'll be surprised at how many people might stop you in a grocery store and ask just what the heck web hosting is! ;)

Get out there - pound the pavement - strike up conversations about what THEY want, not what YOU want, and above all LISTEN to what they are saying. The ability to listen to customers or potential customers is probably more important than being able to talk to them!

depends on many things mainly on the nature of the business, to select which marketing channel is best suited for your business.