What's The Use Of Virtual Private Servers?

Jade

I am new to the whole getting to know what things are when it comes to web hosting. I cam across this 'Virtual Private Servers'. I was wandering if someone could explain to me what it's use it?

If this is in the wrong section, please move. Like I said I don;t know what it is, so I couldn't figure out where it went!

Thanks!

A virtual private server or vps is a server that has been partitioned using software to act like several small dedicated servers.
They allow you to have all of the features of a fully dedicated server, ie: root access, without the cost of a dedicated server.
VPS servers are also for the most part managed so the learning curve is much easier.

Blue and RyanL are correct so now you know what it is. So let me tell you a bit about the positives and negatives about it.

The positives were mentioned by Blue, it is cheaper than a dedicated server, and it is easier to learn on that a dedicated server. You can also have root access to the server, so it is better than a shared server, and there probably aren't as many accounts on a VPS machine as there are on a shared machine.

The negatives are, you share your resources, suach as CPU, RAM, B/W. This can cause bottlenecking. If you are planning on hosting something which requires high bandwidth usage, like video streaming, then VPS might not be the route you want to take. Also, with all of the users rooting in, and sharing your resources, your sites may be sluggish at times, and it may also go down because of someones else mistakes. Another thing is, because it is manage, you are not as free to do what you want as far as updates on software and other things, as you would be with an unmanaged dedicated server.

Thanks for moving webfreak08. :)

Guys you are brilliant, and very helpful. I now understand what is meant by Virtual Private Servers. Also Serverman, thats a brilliant post it is always good to know some of positives and negatives!