Why I Like Free Hosts

hostmaster09

As a webmaster, I like to use free web hosting to host my non-profit sites, or web sites that are in their beginning stages. It is easy to sign-up for a free web site to try out new site ideas, or just to store files for a while.

From my understanding, many free web hosting companies do not allow certain types of files on their servers to prevent people from storing them.

However, it is a great idea to use free hosting providers to test things out, see how they look, play around. While there are a lot of stable providers, it is difficult to find them. If you do, however, find them, I would highly suggest performing active backups of your data to help protect against any kind of information loss. The last thing you want is to work on a new site, have it done the way you want it and then provider going down or out of business.

Hosting is really cheap nowdays, and in my opinion by getting cheapest 1usd/month account you have better service than any free hosting can offer. You're not limited with file types, can test various type of things, and almost certainly be sure that your data is safer than on free host. Imagine designing expensive website and getting this code stolen - this hurts.

I agree Hostbill.
If you really want to test your projects in a real time environment then free hosting is probably the worst way to go.

With so many companies out there offering the world for a dollar a month why not just use them.
Stability wouldn't even be an issue if it's only for testing.

1-dollar companies go out of business just as often as free hosting providers, just because the pressure of handling the customers with a higher level of expectations, so I don't see what is more stable or reliable about them.

Companies like Bravenet or Netfirms have been there for many years providing free hosting as one of their tools to webmasters.