Get Paid to Participate     Twitter     Facebook     Google+
Hosting Discussion
 

forgot password?


Reply


Old
  Post #1 (permalink)   11-04-2006, 07:09 AM
HD Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 19

Status: Duality is offline
I got a weird letter from The Domain Registry Network of Canada asking me to renew one of my domains with them for $40. I never even heard of this company and they are asking me for my credit card number. They also had all of my information with them too. What should I do?
 
 
 


Old
  Post #2 (permalink)   11-04-2006, 07:52 AM
HD Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,725

Status: webfreak08 is offline
What information do they have? If it's just your address, then they could have easily attained it from the WHOIS database.

Re-read the letter carefully and see exactly what it says. If you don't have the domain with them, then ignore it.
 
 
 


Old
  Post #3 (permalink)   11-04-2006, 08:21 AM
HD Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: www.pwrhost.com
Posts: 46
Send a message via AIM to PWRseth Send a message via MSN to PWRseth

Status: PWRseth is offline
If it isn't the register you used to purchase the domain then as webfreak08 stated ignore the letter.
__________________
PWRHost - Power Internet Services
http://www.pwrhost.com
Web Hosting | VPS | Dedicated Servers
 
 
 


Old
  Post #4 (permalink)   11-04-2006, 09:04 AM
HD Community Advisor
 
Blue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: PEI
Posts: 2,573

Status: Blue is offline
This is a scam.
Ignore the letters.
__________________
Hampshire Hosting
Affordable Shared and Reseller Hosting
 
 
 


Old
  Post #5 (permalink)   11-04-2006, 10:06 AM
HD Management Staff
 
Artashes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 7,716

Status: Artashes is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blue
Ignore the letters.
Or burn them for heat.
I get those all the time. This is off-line spam, and is getting really annoying.
__________________
HostingDiscussion.com - web hosting community for grown-ups.

FORUM RULES | NEWS BLOG | HOSTING SHOWCASE | Follow us on Twitter
 
 
 


Old
  Post #6 (permalink)   11-04-2006, 10:12 AM
HD Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 570

Status: Lesli is offline
I received mail from them back in 2000 when I lived up in Canada. It's a load of bull. (I knew because I had only just moved to Canada about four months prior; yet I received this shortly after moving my last domain away from Network Solutions.)
__________________
Lesli Schauf, TLM Network
Linux and Windows Shared Hosting since 2002: Scribehost
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools

New Post New Post   Old Post Old Post
Posting Rules:
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On
Sponsored By: