Foreign Customers

DHD-Nick

So we all have foreign customers. Here is a question: if you can't understand what they have stated in their ticket, how do you tell them you don't understand how they speak English?

I am not a hosting provider, but I do sometimes receive requests from members outside of English-speaking countries that do not speak the language very well. Among them are your customers as well.

If I cannot understand their question, I will simply ask if they could provide a little more detail to their request. There is nothing much else you can do if they try to write in English and just not being coherent. You cannot use a translator, so you just have to hope that your client will be specific enough as to what his question is.

It can be confusing, but politely ask for more details from them. It usually works out in the end if they provide enough details on the issue at hand.

Same as the others, if you don't understand something, you just ask for more clarification. This is true not only for those that speak english as a second language but also native english speakers. Also, if the shorthand written is too hard to decipher what it is the customer wants, we ask for clarification. Rarely would we ever GUESS what the customer means as that can lead to issues down the road.

I run into a lot of non English speakers. I find they do try to do their best and in return I try to do my best to work with them. It can be rough and sometimes it might take asking the same question several times.

In fact I suppose the best thing to do is to insist, and they know and understand why we ask them the same thing also for 6 or 10 times. I had for example a chinese user who said me directly "Sorry, non english. If u need ask me more time. I wont angry".
A bit of patience... mind I am also not a perfect with english so some times I have more troubles but at the end our customers are happy anyway!

I ask for more information also..