How do you get customers?

4webH.com

There are a lot of ways, but which ways are the most cost effective?

Currently, I own 3 servers, I get outsourced support and have leased licenses, so the monthly costs are high. So how did you do it? And how many is a good number per month for a new host?

Sorry for all of the questions, but I am new to the paid hosting industry.

Hey 4webH, there are many ways to get clients, advertise on forums such as this one, offer your current customers an affiliate program of some sort so they spread the word about your services. List your hosting domain in the hosting directories, target local area business with your business card and maybe a leaflet attached to it. They may not buy from you right away but you will be surprised who will eventually contact you regarding hosting. Those should get you started for now.

Absolutely. I personally beleive in the local markets. As Freckled mentions, a business card w/flyer has worked wonders for me...

I have found that a combination of three approaches works best for me.

1. I actively target local web designers that currently don't seem to offer web hosting either themselves or through a reseller/affiliate program

2. I offer my existing clients a free month for each referral they provide

4. (I'm from Indiana - I don't count so good) My darling wife owns a media planning business and she has put together some VERY targeted off-line advertising plans for me.

John

The CPC can be effective if you have the upfront money to get started with them. I personally didn't like it even though I did run one on google for 2 weeks and got 2 sales out.

Here is what I did to try it, I signed up and I am cheap so it was $20 a day max:D