Plesk instead of WHM - am I going to be limited?

cr0wn3r

Im used to running a couple of VPS servers using WHM, but it appears the websites on these servers will shortly be moved to a new provider who only supports Plesk.

I would like to know - will Plesk leave me more limited in terms of my ability to manage the server?

On WHM I can backup whole cpanel accounts, restart specific services, and use EasyApache to recompile, add options, extentions, new modules, upgrade PHP, MySQL etc etc.

Is there an EasyApache equivalent for Plesk allowing me to do all of this? Will it give me the same level of detail and server control as WHM does?

I have very little experience of plesk - only using it previously to manage specific local accounts. It seems to do this very well but I am concerned about the bigger picture of server management which WHM has always handled very well.

Thanks

Last edited:
I've only used Plesk a few times myself, but it is comparable in many ways to WHM by cPanel. It does have it's own management interface and you can start and restart services through there. I've not played with recompiles through a web interface, don't know if they even have one. Every time I've been asked to help troubleshoot for a user I've spent much of my time in shell. I know the older versions of Plesk had almost no control panel for admin work.

It's going to be a learning curve for you when you make the move. If you're going to be moving providers, get a jump on the servers and pick one up NOW and start learning the little tricks that you'll need to know when your clients move over on the VPS. Making that kind of change for customers without giving them an option is not good, but maybe you're using the VPS only for you.

For me, WHM is still the way to go, but if you're making the switch, you better start reading and finding the resources now.

Hey, thanks for the reply.