Marketing Local

TravisT

I see a lot of people around here talking about getting your business started up by promoting locally as they are more reliable typically in sticking with you. I suppose my question is, do you typically just walk around to these small businesses? Or do you mail flyers about your hosting services? Or what methods do you typically use to market to your local community? I have not been doing to bad with my online marketing since i'm a web developer also it can help with bringing in new customers. But, I have not really tried marketing to my local community yet.

TravisT said:
I see a lot of people around here talking about getting your business started up by promoting locally as they are more reliable typically in sticking with you. I suppose my question is, do you typically just walk around to these small businesses? Or do you mail flyers about your hosting services? Or what methods do you typically use to market to your local community? I have not been doing to bad with my online marketing since i'm a web developer also it can help with bringing in new customers. But, I have not really tried marketing to my local community yet.
Local Marketing such as Flyers on Mailing in the Postbox will just annoy people, others will just rip them up. If you have a local newspaper that is one of the best methods in terms of marketing locally.

If I had the budget, I would actually do something more creative that stands out.

For example, during Halloween, buy 100-200 smallest pumpkins you can find - they will not cost you a lot. Then buy/print very small but nice cards where you would wish local businesses a successful upcoming holiday season. Along with those wishes, you can mention that if they don't have the online presence in your area yet, they might be missing on some of their sales - BAM! - pitch your development, marketing, hosting solutions.