Get Paid to Participate     Twitter     Facebook     Google+
Hosting Discussion
 

forgot password?


Reply


Old
  Post #1 (permalink)   01-21-2010, 10:04 AM
HD Management Staff
 
Artashes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 7,716

Status: Artashes is offline
Just wanted to give heads up to everyone reading this. There has been a massive spam posting all over the web for this website:

Quote:
Please Help Earthquake Victim In Haiti

Please help Haiti earthquake victims by donating $25.00 at www.sendhaitihelp.com , help bring much needed medical and food supplies.
Thank you in advance...
Someone registering on a board all over the Internet and placing this message to a site with a YouTube video and Google Checkout asking for donations is beyond suspicious to say the least.

This "organization" that "helps people in need", as the site says, is barely couple of days old (domain name creation date: 14-jan-2010), with a basic blog and an "established organization" that has an event-specific domain name.

I thought the best way to warn people is to actually mention the site itself along with a big word "SCAM" in the title, hoping for search engines to pick it up fast enough. Obviously I know that most people will be able to identify this as scam, but there are still lots of people who are not experienced enough on the Internet who might take the information valid.

I am disgusted by this kind of scum and I wish they burn in hell to profit from someone else's tragedy.

I highly suggest everyone who wants to help the relief efforts in Haiti to follow TRUSTED links of big organizations and corporations.
__________________
HostingDiscussion.com - web hosting community for grown-ups.

FORUM RULES | NEWS BLOG | HOSTING SHOWCASE | Follow us on Twitter
 
 
 


Old
  Post #2 (permalink)   02-10-2010, 10:09 AM
HD Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1

Status: lj6284 is offline
Yes indeed, this site is a fraud and the person in charge of it is a con artist. He is not sending the money to Haiti he is putting it in his pockets. He posted an ad on craigslist looking for attractive ladies to help fundraise. Met the guy and he told me and some others that he will pay us 20/hr to collect donations that will go to Haiti. He had a lot of people collecting for him and he collected the money and disappeared. We tried to contact him and his cell number is turned off. Beware of sendhaitihelp.com. He is not trying to help anybody, he has profited off of the victims of Haiti and it is not right. He has fooled us and the people that gave open heartedly.
 
 
 


Old
  Post #3 (permalink)   02-10-2010, 12:59 PM
HD Wizard
 
romes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: IL
Posts: 1,444
Send a message via MSN to romes

Status: romes is offline
Thanks Art for letting us know.
__________________
RomesBlog.net | Xbox 360 Gaming Articles, Add-ons, New Releases and Much More!
Gaming Directory | Directory on the blog | Great source of traffic! | Reciprocal Link for PR2+ Sites | Advertise for FREE!
 
 
 


Old
  Post #4 (permalink)   02-10-2010, 01:02 PM
HD Wizard
 
SenseiSteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Saint Louis
Posts: 3,777
Send a message via MSN to SenseiSteve

Status: SenseiSteve is offline
I notified the American Red Cross as they're displaying their logo on the banner.
__________________
Hands-On Web Hosting
cPanel Web Hosting, Domain Registration, Managed VPS Servers
Infusing Markets LLC - A Digital Interactive Marketing Firm
 
 
 


Old
  Post #5 (permalink)   02-10-2010, 07:02 PM
HD Management Staff
 
Artashes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 7,716

Status: Artashes is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve-Hostirian View Post
I notified the American Red Cross as they're displaying their logo on the banner.
Thank you for that, Steve. I should have probably done so long time ago myself. Just the worst kind of person there is, as testified by a testimonial above from another person.

The unthinkable thing is - if he himself was found in a similar situation, resources will be spend to save his life, too.
__________________
HostingDiscussion.com - web hosting community for grown-ups.

FORUM RULES | NEWS BLOG | HOSTING SHOWCASE | Follow us on Twitter
 
 
 


Old
  Post #6 (permalink)   02-19-2010, 02:45 AM
HD Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 5

Status: hostunbound.com is offline
Thanks for informing us.
 
 
 


Old
  Post #7 (permalink)   02-23-2010, 01:00 AM
HD Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 7

Status: Orophix is offline
I wonder how much he's made off of this. On another note the site is pretty well done, no wonder people are falling for it.
 
 
 


Old
  Post #8 (permalink)   03-09-2010, 08:45 AM
Account Disabled
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 69
Send a message via AIM to nightshadpro Send a message via MSN to nightshadpro Send a message via Skype™ to nightshadpro

Status: nightshadpro is offline
That is obviously illegal. Has anyone who has dealt with him in person contacted the appropriate authorities?
 
 
 


Old
  Post #9 (permalink)   03-09-2010, 10:59 AM
HD Management Staff
 
Artashes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 7,716

Status: Artashes is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by nightshadpro View Post
That is obviously illegal. Has anyone who has dealt with him in person contacted the appropriate authorities?
Personally, I wanted to contact authorities, but then I do not have the time to research, nor the time to deal with it. I thought I would do more damage by bringing the message to the masses who would want to make a search for his website. And guess what, it worked.
__________________
HostingDiscussion.com - web hosting community for grown-ups.

FORUM RULES | NEWS BLOG | HOSTING SHOWCASE | Follow us on Twitter
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools

New Post New Post   Old Post Old Post
Posting Rules:
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On
Sponsored By: