Get Paid to Participate - up to $1 per post!     Twitter     Facebook     Google+
Hosting Discussion
 

forgot password?



Reply


Old
  Post #1 (permalink)   07-06-2008, 03:22 PM
HD Guru
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 536

Status: AbbieRose is offline
When making a business site do you have a link simply for 'contact us' and assume that people would address complaints there, or do you have a specific contact for complaints? Would you think customers would prefer that?
 
 
 


Old
  Post #2 (permalink)   07-06-2008, 09:50 PM
HD Addict
 
purple's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Maine, USA
Posts: 226

Status: purple is offline
I notice alot of places have one generic "contact us" e-mail adress set up. The ones I prefer to deal with have at least a form with a dropdown to choose what you want to contact them for. I hate to think my issue is overlooked because they skipped it in the pile of random garbage.
 
 
 


Old
  Post #3 (permalink)   07-07-2008, 05:02 AM
HD Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 205

Status: chatterbox is offline
I've noticed that places with the one overall contact tend to take much longer to address my concerns than companies that have specific department contacts. Whether there are multiple people or not, at least the person is alerted by using that particular email address so they know to deal with the issue right away.
 
 
 


Old
  Post #4 (permalink)   07-07-2008, 07:19 AM
HD Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 25

Status: VTGal is offline
I think it is a good idea to have a seperate contact to address complaints. I have never had luck complaining through a general contact and this has caused more frustration on my part.
 
 
 


Old
  Post #5 (permalink)   07-07-2008, 08:30 AM
HD Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 34

Status: InveHosting is offline
What we do is, we have seperate e-mails for different departments for complaints. If there is an issue, and you send an e-mail out, it gets piped into my ticket system. Then the ticket system issues a text message to all of the employee's that are involved.
__________________
InveHosting.com - Premium CloudLinux Hosting for all of your needs
Introducing OptimumLayer.com - Unmeasured Potential!
PHP5, MySQL5, RVsitebuilder, R1Soft Hourly Backups, and more!
We're hosted on our own equipment in Asheville, NC!
 
 
 


Old
  Post #6 (permalink)   07-07-2008, 10:10 PM
HD Guru
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 536

Status: AbbieRose is offline
So if you have a separate email address how do you deal with 'advertising' it? Do you simply list a separate email in the contacts page, or a link to a separate page for complaints, or list it more prominently somewhere?
 
 
 


Old
  Post #7 (permalink)   07-08-2008, 08:36 AM
HD Master
 
bobchrist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 484

Status: bobchrist is offline
You should handle the complain very politely and better if you direct them to send it to your support.
__________________
Raid-x
 
 
 


Old
  Post #8 (permalink)   07-08-2008, 04:05 PM
HD Guru
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 536

Status: AbbieRose is offline
Of course, once a complaint was recieved there would be no doubt about handling it rapidly and diplomatically!

My concern was that; if you make a complaint link really obvious, does it make it seem like you get a lot of complaints? And thus put off new customers?
 
 
 


Old
  Post #9 (permalink)   07-10-2008, 07:39 AM
HD Master
 
bobchrist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 484

Status: bobchrist is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by AbbieRose View Post
Of course, once a complaint was recieved there would be no doubt about handling it rapidly and diplomatically!

My concern was that; if you make a complaint link really obvious, does it make it seem like you get a lot of complaints? And thus put off new customers?
Instead of a complaint link I think a suggestion box or feedback form is good to use because adding a complain link will put bad impression for the visitors.
__________________
Raid-x
 
 
 


Old
  Post #10 (permalink)   07-12-2008, 02:34 PM
HD Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 49

Status: AlexCourtney is offline
I think a postal mail or directly on the phone would be a more convenient way of dealing with complaints as a web host. If you haven't got a phone line seperate and/or you can't allow postal mail, I'm sure just a normal email address complaints[at]yourwebhost.com would be alright.
__________________
||| Waves'
||| Alex Courtney

||| HostPastima Owner/Founder
||| HostPastima.com // Coming Soon
 
 
 


Old
  Post #11 (permalink)   07-13-2008, 03:18 AM
HD Amateur
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 71

Status: HostingITrust is offline
If you are talking about your existing customer complaints then it is better if some sort of ticket system be installed in place. You cannot expect your customers to tell you about their problems through a generic contact form.
__________________
Ray Creations |
Ray Hosting | RayThemz
 
 
 


Old
  Post #12 (permalink)   07-13-2008, 05:18 AM
HD Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 49

Status: AlexCourtney is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by HostingITrust View Post
If you are talking about your existing customer complaints then it is better if some sort of ticket system be installed in place. You cannot expect your customers to tell you about their problems through a generic contact form.
Or a billing system, yeah, * I was adding to my post above *.
__________________
||| Waves'
||| Alex Courtney

||| HostPastima Owner/Founder
||| HostPastima.com // Coming Soon
 
 
 


Old
  Post #13 (permalink)   07-13-2008, 09:33 AM
Rob
HD Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Wiltshire
Posts: 276
Send a message via AIM to Rob Send a message via Skype™ to Rob

Status: Rob is offline
Our clients can either address complaints through our general email address info@, submit a ticket or give us a call
__________________
Rob G.
Chief Operating Officer
Peartree Digital Media Solutions
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools

New Post New Post   Old Post Old Post
Posting Rules:
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On
Sponsored By: